Reflection/ Art of Living/Restart

It was Time

Observation Cloud, Breezy Cafe, Catching the Ray

Monoreena Acharjee Majumdar
Soul Bay
Published in
3 min readApr 17, 2024

--

That hour and glass….Photo©_Nefelibata.in Monoreena

“You can have it all. Just not all at once.”― Oprah Winfrey

T he hour glass is a replica
and a gift.
the slim cylinder stands on my table
artificial sand pouring ennui
grain by grain

I pull it up each day
with a false notion that
time is felony. I am only allowed

a beautiful yellow-body-red-beak
bird visits the mango tree
I watch it without my phone
the extroverted avian dance is
in opposition to my introverted
stalker identity.

I glance at these moments
before time bumps with a tree

Once, sitting by a lake I saw
the clouds painted on sky, dropping
on tranquil turquoise
it stayed and moved with me

I want to fill my canvas with
blue sky and white clouds
I multiply time with future

there are evenings when
I launch my poetry reading
as if I have gone back
to my days of school
I catch time and open my fist
on paper
I see time fill with ink

You spread yourself like a linen sheet
embroidered in paisley on human vessels
human experience stains the cloth

time turns Grey
teaching us to appreciate
our gift, lying unattended for
years, covered in puss and clot

You know why in the world of
human and humanoids
you learn to give love to a tree

My inflamed elbow becomes
a time keeper
My tongue has forgotten salt
Only my eyes enjoy the taste

I took the trash out. time was Night.
a crescent moon and some stars
danced upon the stale.

One day my screen saver will be a yellow bird.

I changed my ring tone.
It was time.

“For what it’s worth: it’s never too late,I hope you make the best of it. And I hope you see things that startle you. I hope you feel things you never felt before. I hope you meet people with a different point of view. I hope you live a life you’re proud of. If you find that you’re not, I hope you have the courage to start all over again.” — Eric Roth, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button Screenplay

Blue sky, white clouds…..nature’s painted canvas, Photo©_Nefelibata.in Monoreena

I enjoyed a sight of a lady bare feet, in saree, creating mellifluous music with her hands and violin, enthusiastic soft hands beating hard on her drums along with smiling faces with instruments from around the world creating intuitive music holding time, the young pack led by non other than Maestro Zakir Hussain in this Berklee Live ensemble. Hope you enjoy too !

--

--