Marble wall of words

A poem about writing , penned by a writer.

Nitya Sharma
Soul Bay
2 min readJun 21, 2024

--

Artist unknown , art source : https://pin.it/3YaWrg64Z

the world of poetry that I once promised to build ,

will all turn into dust on the floor of my mouth

the words would fall apart from the rooms in my heart ,

and the crumbling walls would no longer house my voice-

the letters once hidden in the dark would crawl their way out ,

and the ink smudged poetry would break free of the brick

those crinkled papers will wither away with the wind in my lungs ,

and the sweet symphonies with melodies would be at home within my bones

as I witness all my poetic promises disappear into sweet nothing-

and the world of poetry that I promised myself to build ,

wills to no longer shelter the ever changing time and fate under it’s roof-

so I retire to the corner with unabating hope in my breaths confined ,

to lean on to that marble wall of words so beautiful and kind

as I wait for a lost rhyme to find it’s way to the backdoor of my mind-

©️ Nitya Sharma 2024. All rights reserved.

Gratitude corner :

Thank you for taking out the time to read my poem , dear reader!

I am deeply grateful for your encouraging presence on Medium , your read/claps/comments and shares are always appreciated by me. If you’d want to share your thoughts and views on my words , please feel free to comment them. I delight in reading the reader’s perspective.

Thank you for making this community safe and welcoming , dear reader.

Note from the poetess :

This poem revolves around the mind and heart of a writer. It highlights the plight of time and fate in the protagonist’s life as they struggle to make time and find the right words to build a world out of their poem.

To me , writing is like an internal calling. It is like a divine communication for I often wonder who else except Him would put these words in my head? It is Him , he who inspires me through His wonderful creations of Nature to write and dream.

Sometimes we end up writing words that we’d wish to hear from someone , and sometimes we’d conjure up a string of words even when we think that we feel in the moment is unexplainable! This is the magic of writing.

Thank you for your kind company. Until next time , take care!

--

--

Nitya Sharma
Soul Bay

Student of Life. Learning poetess who is seeking her purpose. Instagram poetry blog : @nityavachanam