Ode to The Undying

A poem dedicated to the light within us all.

Nitya Sharma
Soul Bay
3 min readMar 14, 2024

--

Of the Stars by Simini Blocker on Behance

When the indifferent feel a flicker of kindness deep in their heart ,

for that fleeting fraction of a second as one reflects on their part

when the ones who think of themselves as capable of harbouring hate ,

tend to slowly realize that this false feeling was merely pretending to be innate

when the ones whose endless desires burn in the air of jealousy and greed ,

patiently learn to smother the ochre flames of anger which never fulfilled any need

when the ones who seem to be caged within bars made out of doubts and fears ,

find within the hidden key out of the prison of their minds and watch it disappear

To believe that despite the strongest breeze may blow and rain may fall ,

there is a spark of goodness that refuses to die in the darkest times of all-

and to recognize the strength of The Undying will within our being,

of understanding and kindness where in lies Life’s only true meaning.

©️ Nitya Sharma 2023. All rights reserved.

Note from the poetess :

This poem is taken from a hidden shelf in my draft vault. It feels as if it made its way to me , and through me it has made a way to you , dear reader.

My mother introduced me to the Undying Light we hold in our beings. She was the one who told me to let this Light guide me and be my refuge. To protect the warmth of this Light and help others live more consciously , highlights the theme of this poem.

No matter how harsh the world becomes with us at times , no matter how tough it becomes to feel the warmth of this Undying Light within us ; we must always try to stay true to our beings. Everyone has a different perception and perspective of what is right and what is wrong , and I think that all that matters at the end of the day is if we are content with our karma.

I hope we’re able to recognise and rely on this source of strength and kindness within us more and more everyday , dear reader.

Gratitude corner :

Thank you for your patience dear reader. I’m deeply grateful for your read/clap/comments and shares. I’d delight in reading your point of views in the comments , if you’d please. Your sweet words of praise and your valuable reads never fail to lift me up.

Even though I am unable to post poetry as often as I once did , I don’t think I’ll ever be able to forsake it. Till I come up with a new string of words , please bear with me.

Thank you for your gracious company . Until next time , take care.

--

--

Nitya Sharma
Soul Bay

Student of Life. Learning poetess who is seeking her purpose. Instagram poetry blog : @nityavachanam