Just Like That

The Days I Write for Me

And Only Me

Monoreena Acharjee Majumdar
Soul Bay
Published in
2 min readJul 11, 2024

--

T here are days when I write for me

Wrap sweet smelling fish in aluminium
foil
put my limbs on the baking tray and
slit open my skin
the oven smells of me and
lemongrass

lemon.grass
I look at the sea

The days I down myself
drowning in that sea of untether
soft touch of water and
planktons on my finger tips

swaying to salt and life
feeding schools of fishes
wagging their tail,
eyes enlarged by aqua sun

My cup pours tea from the
whistling kettle
I grate ginger with Temi

the sea comes Alive

I move around in the circumference
of freshness, breathing moss
chocking corals
penetrate up one hand through sheets of water
hunting for the dead shells on the beach

I fill one palm with the dead
another holding oyster
gurgling oxygen on the bed
surfing a game called life

gasping is an act of playing dead
giving life a shot at superiority

Not everyday is for pearl
but the idea of it moves like incense

just like that
the wind blows, the curtains flow
the rain falls damp and hot
the birds chirp and the western sky stays blue

the dash of red and yellow are bell peppers on my baking tray
lending colour to my anti-arthritic broccoli

some days are just like that.ordinary
no hyphenated emphasis
no italicised attention(-) seeking
no poetry to enthrall

on days I write for me
And only Me

In some time the sky will switch on its fairy lights
we earth-ians call them stars

Do not chase happiness; let it chase you― Peter Deuno

clouds observed from a hospital porch
The silver lining, Photo_https://nefelibata.in Monoreena ©

Ordinary days become less mundane with some good music.
Have been listening to Passenger (English Singer/Song Writer) and found this anniversary video of their amazing, beautifully introspective number with Ed Sheran — you only need the light when it’s burning low, only miss the sun when it starts to snow, ‘Let her go’: Enjoy:)

--

--