Art of Living/ Writing Life/ Re-Start

Trigger

Cloud-o-Light/ Summer Cafe/ Catching the Ray

Monoreena Acharjee Majumdar
Soul Bay
Published in
3 min readApr 10, 2024

--

My avian companion a witness to this celestial opera, Photo_Nefelibata.in © Monoreena

“Courage doesn’t always roar. Sometimes courage is the little voice at the end of the day that says I’ll try again tomorrow” — Mary Anne Radanbacher

T he parking lot was divided by the sun
old and setting, yet leaving its mark
in geometry

The vehicles sipping light
seating in heat, warming up
to leave

Do we go back dying, sad
witness to a truck load of
spring disappearing into the gape
of seasons

Yes. It’s summer here and sun is
sampling ice creams

I pass a corner pizza joint
un-lighted and empty
a lanky teen cleaning the window glass
bubbles of soap thinning in air

In a fortnight it will be busy with kids
soaked in their vacation mode
chattering mothers exhaling noise

Did that lad have a shot at school…..

My thought grows teeth
tongue biting taste
memories of the sea splashing
on my face

How I could not complete
the story I started

It felt inadequate, questioning myself
tapping my pen at each letter wondering
if its enough

It happens when you open all your compartments
and let life ruffle you

But you see
the beauty of chaos lies in making
s-t-a-i-g-h-t-b-o-r-i-ng-l-i-n-e-s charming

you want to take that path which narrows
at a distance where the fence meets the
the rising moon……

I slowly close my compartments stuffed
with happenings, undone moments
with strings of happiness
little drops of mirth un-writable
forming the premise for future verses

I start walking by the beach, sand
tracing my foot print
foot pricked by shards of shells
memory of water and a lone
crow, my companion to a
celestial opera before the sky
dons the navy suit with embroidered
stars, and slips into dreams….

Waking up to human sweetness
unturned to yogurt
can be a trigger for word coalescence….

“She never seemed shattered to me. She was a breathtaking mosaic of the battles she won” — Matt_Baker

The sea, the moon, night a sequence in dream….Photo_Nefelibata.in © Monoreena

I was lingering on the edge of my writing table not wanting to start all over again, as a strand in me was dying to come back. The new rules in this platform did not make my process easier.
Thanks to constant encouragement from my friends here, finally I feel I have freed myself from my procrastinating self, advent of summer infusing in me my lost-to-winter energy levels which has given me time to listen to some fresh, lemony music.
The day turns to its ethereal best with Bela Fleck, Zakir Hussain, Edgar Meyer, Rakesh Chaurasia “AS WE SPEAK”. Enjoy :))

--

--