Poetry/Invisible illness/Festivities/Positivity

Will The Sky Become a Mirror

Cloud Confession, Festive Cafe, Catching the Ray

Monoreena Acharjee Majumdar
Soul Bay
Published in
3 min readDec 18, 2022

--

poem nd photo by Monoreena
Photo/Edit by Monoreena

“I didn’t want my picture taken because I was going to cry. I didn’t know why I was going to cry, but I knew that if anybody spoke to me or looked at me too closely the tears would fly out of my eyes and the sobs would fly out of my throat and I’d cry for a week. I could feel the tears brimming and sloshing in me like water in a glass that is unsteady and too full.” ― Sylvia Plath

I speak to the moon
And she tells me stories.
Of how Sun makes her
part of a glory.

If the sky turned a mirror,
Reflecting souls that can speak,
Walking out of body they’ll blossom,
An old chair in the corner creaked,

That well lit moon sky’s bulb,
Silly crows mistake night for day,
They snatch away the dining linen,
Dressed table but in disarray,

But see,
The wall above is clear as glass,
Picked its colour off shades of blue,
Today is dressed with giggling stars,
In bows and strings stapled with glue,

From sand to stardust eternity
measured,
Meadows, springs and rivers swoon,
Cradling the celestial wonders they
move,
Clouds clouds, moon moon,

Dancing shadows water cupped,
Borrows fire from the hearth,
Exhume forests, unseen, unheard,
Fireflies donate light ‘n mirth,

“What’s untold that I need to tell?’
“Keep me telling till I learn to fail,”

Moon quoth, Sun rolled his eyes in pain —
And that is when it started to rain,

Electric city, erect ’n still,
Pirouetting fire on ice thin,
Delicate rain made of snow,
Heaps on earth of candle glows,

Goblets clink and laughters flow,
Cello strings tell stories of yore,
It is cold outside as it would,
But why this winter feels so good….

Questioning mind wonders ever
Will the sky become a mirror?

Festive Cafe: “It is easier to say, 'My tooth is aching' than to say, 'My heart is broken”― C.S. Lewis, The Problem of Pain

For good many years now, I find hard to cope with any festive energy around me.
Even in close family gatherings I will lose it in an hour or so and find my own quiet corner, away from prying eyes.
I have always kept it in wraps so that my feelings of inadequacy doesn’t impact people who actually care for me.
It can get difficult even when you are surrounded by understanding and love.

Festive depression is not uncommon in people with chronic /invisible illness, those away from family, living alone and for other various reasons.
In this milieu, our effort should be to keep up the good spirit and positivity by letting each other know that we are not alone in this.

As my key board works, Messi scores what’s his due and the neighbourhood is erupting in screams and crackers. Argentina scoring is this place playing second Diwali. Festivities don’t cease in this part of the world……

Somsubhra Banerjee has written a beautiful piece on the game and the dream it has presented with to generations of youngsters, which you can read in A-hope-called-sports

How-to-say-happy-birthday-from-the-bottom-of-your-heart by Jamal A. Yearwood was a good read this week.You can take a look.

Benighted wrote a wonderful piece on festive depression and importance of kindness in The-pain-of-being-alone-during-the-holidays.

Time to sign off from Soul Bay. Hope all your Christmas trees are decorated and lighted , as my path is ,thanks to your presence !

Today’s song a Simon & Garfunkel classic remastered with a visual you can’t take your eyes off: Sound of Silence.

--

--