A Language of Tastes and Flavours

Somtoochukwu Benedict Ezioha
8 min readNov 17, 2023

--

Image Source — self-generated with AI by the author.

The kitchen buzzed with life as the smoky scent of fish, the honeyed aroma of palm oil, and the fiery bite of peppers filled the air. I watched over my simmering pots, where the oil’s golden shimmer danced with the bold reds and greens of the ingredients.

Peppers crackled as they kissed the hot pan, harmonising with the steady rhythm of vegetable chopping, crafting a melody that moved to the beat of my cooking. A gentle hum escaped my lips, carried away by the aromatic symphony.

Each spoonful I stirred was like a painter’s delicate touch, infusing my dish with the vibrancy of spices. The flavours, with each taste, lifted my spirit or gently let it fall, drawing my emotions across the steaming canvas.

This was my language, spoken through the art of combining flavours and textures, an expression of my innermost creativity.

Every dish I created was like revealing a page from my personal diary, with my emotions and dreams spilling onto the plate. In this snug, buzzing kitchen, every corner teemed with my passion.

Here, in a modest eatery tucked away in Lekki’s quiet corners, far from the bustling city centre’s glitter, my culinary creations were my silent language. Each recipe was a heartfelt confession, silently yearning for understanding.

Pouring my signature red stew into a bowl, my heart fluttered with a blend of thrill and unease. A rhythm of heartbeats matched the clock’s ticking, while distant chatter from the dining room filled the air.

Suddenly, Amaka’s hushed voice broke through, tinged with urgency. “Deji Adeleke, the renowned critic, will be dining here today,” she murmured, her eyes wide with a mix of fear and excitement. “His words have the power to transform our fate. We need to dazzle him!”

Whispering “Deji” to myself, I glanced at his newest critique on my phone. He had just dismissed a famous chef’s best dish with a simple wave of his hand. His words were sharp, often writing reviews that shut down opportunities as fast as they appeared.

These harsh critiques played over in my head while I got his table ready. Meanwhile, Amaka hurried to set everything just right. I thought about the pictures Deji shared—stepping out of lavish cars, dining at top-notch restaurants, and snapping photos with famous chefs. He always looked flawless, examining each plate with a sceptical eye.

Deji scrutinised each dish with a confidence that made his taste buds seem all-knowing. Despite my irritation at his cockiness, the hope of a positive review from him fluttered in my chest—a review that could transform my life.

This was more than a chance for fame; it was an opportunity to weave my grandmother’s teachings into my destiny. As I stirred the stew, my mind wandered back to the kitchen of my childhood, where my grandmother’s encouraging smile and storytelling seasoned our cooking.

“Infuse your heritage in every bite,” she would instruct. Her words, echoing in my mind, steadied me like a lighthouse in a storm.

As Deji made his entrance, led by the waiter, I sneaked peeks at him through the window. A hush fell over the restaurant, every eye subtly tracking his movements. The staff stood a bit stiffer, their whispers fluttering like leaves in a soft wind.

Deji, with the quiet force of his presence, stirred the air as though he were the first cool breeze of an approaching storm. He arranged his silverware with methodical care, the light glinting off his sleek grey suit and gleaming watch.

Settling into his chair, he exuded an air of quiet anticipation, casually dismissing the menu with a graceful flick of his hand, adorned with a shining ring.

“Mr Adeleke has asked for the banga stew, with assorted meats and fish, plus white rice,” Amaka said with urgency.

Relief washed over me. I was grateful for having prepared the stew earlier. From dawn, I’d nurtured its base, letting it bubble gently with fresh palm fruit and gradually infusing it with layers of flavour—smoked fish, tender snails, and a blend of rich meats.

This dish, rarely chosen by patrons, was my pride. In each simmering pot of banga stew, I saw not just a meal but a vibrant story, a culinary dialect rich with tradition and taste. It was a legacy, connecting the past to the present, a cherished piece of my heritage.

Each ingredient sang its own tune, each spice adding its unique note, together weaving a tale as rich and profound as any spoken language. I trusted Deji would see the love and complexity intertwined in every spoonful.

With each element of the dish, I honoured my grandmother’s teachings. I arranged the tender beef and juicy catfish, a taste of the robust meals she lovingly prepared. Periwinkles, hidden in the lively orange sauce, sparked a cascade of colours and textures, reminding me of days spent searching for the freshest ingredients.

The fluffy rice, meticulously shaped into an impeccable pyramid, mirrored her artful presentation, a skill she bestowed upon me with pride. These dishes, steeped in familial love, united us across generations. I wished to convey these rich stories, but to Deji, the flavour was all that mattered.

Gently, I assembled the plate: beef, catfish, and periwinkles cradled in the sauce, accompanied by the pristine pyramid of rice. A final touch of shredded greens, and I was ready. My hands shook lightly, caught between nervousness and anticipation, as I brought the dish to Deji.

He remained still as I presented the dish, his eyes fixed elsewhere. My heart thumped in my chest, waiting for his response. Deji examined the plate closely, inhaling the mixed scents.

He carefully sliced a piece of fish and tasted it thoughtfully. My breath caught in my throat. After he chewed and swallowed, he finally met my eyes. My emotions swirled from hope to fear.

“This needs more imagination, more finesse,” he said calmly. “The flavours don’t blend well—the palm oil is too strong. And the feel of it in the mouth isn’t quite right.”

Watching Deji, I saw his reactions reveal more than his words. As he savoured the stew, a brief look of surprise appeared in his eyes, soon hidden by his analytical face. His eyebrows lifted subtly, suggesting he had found something unexpected in the taste, but then his stern look returned.

Rooted to the spot, his critique rang in my ears. He meticulously picked apart my dish, pointing out the imperfections in every grain of rice, each sliver of fish, and the leafy greens. My heart sank as my lovingly crafted creation, infused with tender care and spices, was diminished to mere faults.

Yet, amidst his harsh words, I caught a brief softening in his eyes, a momentary warmth as they danced over the contours of the meat and the bright colours of the sauce.

“Who made this?” Deji demanded abruptly.

Gathering my courage, I stepped forward. “I’m the chef, sir. I endeavoured to merge traditional Niger Delta ingredients with Igbo culinary methods …” My voice faltered under his intense stare.

Deji interrupted me sharply. “This dish might satisfy local tastes, but it lacks finesse. You need to refine your skills,” he said, pausing to survey my dish again. “However, there’s a certain rawness, an honest charm in your flavours, and a rustic simplicity in your approach. That’s quite remarkable.”

Deji’s critique struck me like an icy wave, drenching me in shock. I lowered my gaze, each word a sharp jab to my heart. My hand formed a fist at my side, not in rage but in a silent pledge to persevere. I tried to speak, but my voice broke in a whisper.

Dismissively, Deji turned back to his meal, ignoring me. I retreated to the kitchen, fighting the tears that threatened to spill. My dream of dazzling this critic lay in ruins. His indifference to my food’s soul and heritage stung deep.

Leaning against the chill of the kitchen tiles, surrounded by my haven of spices and bubbling pots, Deji’s words reverberated with the kitchen’s bustle.

I pondered, “Maybe there’s truth in his words.”

My cooking journey wasn’t just about honouring my roots; it was about evolving and aspiring to new heights. The kitchen’s rhythm, amid steam and aroma, bolstered my determination. I started scribbling new recipes, blending tradition with innovation, not merely to defy Deji but to marry the old with the new, weaving a culinary harmony of past and future.

Alone in the kitchen’s hush, I reflected on his biting feedback, finding the truth that reflected my own desire for growth. Watching Deji silently savour each bite, I had a second thought. He relished every piece, flaws and all. My dish had reached him despite its imperfections.

A realisation dawned on me. Deji was more than a critic; he was a conduit to a broader world. It was a moment of truth, an opportunity to balance my culinary heritage with the bold strides of innovation.

“I must evolve, adapt, yet hold onto my core,” I resolved, a newfound purpose firming my wavering determination.

As Deji left, sliding his black Amex across to Amaka in silence, I dared to peek once more. In a brief instant, his mask of assurance slipped. He paused, eyes closed, breathing in the kitchen’s lingering scents.

During that brief pause, I saw the person beneath the critic’s exterior. His gaze, usually so firm, softened as it rested on the now-empty plate, revealing a glimmer of something unsaid. It felt like witnessing a rare break in a stormy sky, exposing a Deji who could appreciate the soul in simple fare, moved by the hidden tales told through spice and heat.

With a final straightening of his posture, he left with purpose. The following day brought Deji’s online review, unexpectedly kind in its words. “Authentic, traditional flavours stand out in this modest eatery,” he declared.

My banga stew’s ‘harmonious complexity’ earned his praise, even as he critiqued its presentation. A surprising 9.4/10 was my reward. Not a perfect score, but more than I had hoped for.

My cooking had somehow reached him. In pondering his words, I realised the enigma that was Deji Adeleke — a critic with a deep-seated grasp of flavours hidden beneath layers of critique.

A profound realisation dawned on me: our food, like our stories, can touch even the most discerning spirits. I understood then that beneath Deji’s abrupt exterior lay a profound appreciation, a language of flavours that I, too, could speak.

“Maybe my dish’s layers softened his tough exterior, showing a critic who, beneath his abruptness, yearned to discover true culinary art,” I wondered.

Our paths in cooking were different, but our love for it connected us. I vowed to keep honing my craft, to reach those who didn’t just eat but felt the tales, joys, and memories in each bite.

I dream of opening a grander restaurant one day. Deji Adeleke will top my guest list. Reflecting on this, my culinary path seemed like a gently stewing broth, with every experience enriching the taste.

My grandmother’s age-old recipes, woven with my innovative ideas, were like a blend of varied spices, forming an extraordinary cooking style that was uniquely mine.

Hello. Thank you for reading my story. It means so much to me. What did you think about the work? Do tell me in the comments. Also, you can clap 50 times for the story. This helps me get more views and engagements.

Finally, why not give me a follow and subscribe to my email list so you’ll be notified immediately when I drop a story?

--

--

Somtoochukwu Benedict Ezioha

Welcome. Here's where I showcase my love for Fiction, my first love. You can send me an email at somtooben@gmail.com or WhatsApp: +234 704 482 5634