It’s All About Me

Candra Adia
Soul Connected
Published in
2 min readJan 2, 2018

[A Poem]

You don’t understand do you?
My walk, my talk, my style, my dress
The charisma and class that I possess
God from the top of my head to the bottom of my feet
I begin to speak to tell you all about it…
But you…you just don’t get it do you?

Flesh of this world, but mind, spirit & soul inhabited in an elevated other
I could explain to you about seeing when your eyes aren’t open
Listening when there are no words said
Having faith when there is no evidence
Possessing love when everything around you is filled with hate
Wanting to be educated to be elevated
Knowing just because…
But no…you can’t comprehend

Love so deep and profound because it first had the name of friendship
Sex beyond bodies; instead of the spirit and soul
Minds that dance together and hearts intertwined
One that wants to take the time to put this puzzle together
Someone who had appreciation for the inside and then looked out
That person to whom you’re not a toy
A man who had decided he no longer wants to be a boy
With whom there is no degrading of oneself
The person who could see me if there was no flesh
A soul mate, a confidant, a best friend
Can you even begin to understand the depths of my humaneness?
Of course not!

Because to you a vagina is a pussy and a penis is a dick and that’s just something she gets stuck wit.
To you there are a million and one fish in the sea and you want your hand at fucking every…single…one.
You, you judge on outward appearances willing to take whatever you get as long as the package is nice.
But momma always said, “judging a book by its cover will bring trouble most every time.”
Of course you…never took the time to listen.

A man is a man because he is able to put boyish ways behind to elevate to the next level.
So, I ask you Boy, “is the elevator to that level coming your way anytime soon?”
Because time is running thin,
to wait for you I cannot, will not;
games I do not participate in.
So, while you live your life inhabited by shallowness,
I’ll continue to let divine intervention lead mine.
Concerned with the oneness of my body, spirit, soul and mind.
I have too much respect and adoration for self,
and when it comes down to it…
It’s all about me…and you, you just don’t get it.

Candra Adia writes daily musings on the perfect imperfections of life here in Soul Connected. Receive one every morning to read as you start your day by clicking here to subscribe.

--

--

Candra Adia
Soul Connected

Working at being human in life just like everyone else. I write often so I guess that makes me a writer.