What it means to be free

A poem about freedom: the roots of Flower Power

Daisy Bolin
2 min readJan 11, 2023
Tall yellow Daisies in a Kansas field.
Image by: Daisy Bolin

Oh, what it means to be free.

It’s to be entirely me,

without worrying about you,

and what you might see.

Oh, what it means to be free.

It’s sharing why I love the smell of wet cement,

and staying in on a night they all went.

It’s breaking the rules by loving what I do,

instead of finding a common complaint,

and knowing the relationship between “cool” and “boring,”

because the life I live, will be without restraint.

It’s looking at life with curious eyes, instead of envy and spite,

because everything that happens in this blip of time,

is the path, we so badly want to be “right.”

It’s shaking hands with my fears,

and laughing my real laugh.

It’s walking barefoot through streams,

and believing in stars over graphs.

Oh, what it means to be free.

It’s realizing that judging you, was really just me,

protecting my bad habits and hiding in the weeds.

All I want to feel is what it means to be free,

To be entirely me,

without worrying about you,

and what you might see.

Oh, how it feels to be free.

“I” might be you. This poem is my take on a mindset that takes daily practice and lots of repetition. Read it, hear it, write it, believe it. Rinse and repeat!

--

--