We Are Going on a Summer Holiday…
16 Travel Tips for Solo Dads

CHETAN SHAH
SOUL DADS
Published in
7 min readMay 9, 2018

I love summer holidays.

For many, it may be a chance to put up more status updates or post pictures on Facebook and Instagram… But for me it’s a chance to spend quality time with my daughter.

Every time I travel with my daughter, I try to do something differently.

But no matter how creative I get with the holiday, there’s one thing that always stays in focus– the holiday is about her!

Holidays are a time for her to have fun and let her hair down…as she learns and gathers new experiences.

My past holidays with my daughter have made me wiser as a single dad. Now I know better how to choose a destination, plan for contingencies, and ensure we have a fun time together!

Find below my 16 tips and ideas on planning a memorable holiday with your child.

Do feel free to share your own experiences and holiday memories in the comment box below…

1. Plan a surprise: Say you aren’t going anywhere this summer, and then surprise them last minute with a holiday announcement… The look on my daughter’s face was priceless, when I told her I was taking her to London and New York without much warning. It was just the two of us, and she couldn’t contain the excitement of travelling alone with me.

2. Camp at homes: When abroad, we often travel with other friends and family, or stay in homes of family and friends. This makes it easier for the child to adjust to a new place. Both in New York and London, we stayed with families first, and then moved into apartments. Since these trips are long, it also helps, as you get the occasional home-cooked meal for the child.

3. Rent apartments: When travelling with children, apartments give you that extra space for kids to run around. A kitchenette helps you cook a quick meal or breakfast before you set out for the day. My child is not a fussy eater, but she loves Indian food. So I’ve learned to cook a few basic dishes… I can see a satisfied look on her face when she eats these meals.

4. Think of food: Food is very important for kids. Make sure you choose an airline that has food for kids, and is child-friendly, i.e. they have strollers at the airport, and accommodate extra baggage allowance. Also, pack some home food, which can be stored and lasts long, as it comes handy on flights and car journeys.

5. Plan activities: A cruise works well as there is a lot to do onboard. I took two cruise holidays with my daughter to Europe, and both were great. Most cruises have non-stop entertainment and food for the kids and adults, and great day care services too.

6. Carry enough clothing: Check the weather, and carry appropriate clothing and shoes. It’s always better to carry more than less, especially in colder climates. I remember, four years ago, on a trip to Europe, I did not check the temperature, and we were in the south of France. But it was cold even in the summer. I had only carried a small sweater for her, and had to rush out and shop for more clothing…it disrupted our schedule a bit.

7. Choose a child-friendly place: Kids can’t walk for long, especially if they have done activities, so take a stroller for them where you can (depending on their age), if you plan to walk for long. Thus, check beforehand if the city is stroller-friendly. Most European cities have cobbled paths, making them difficult for strollers. Italy and France are particularly tough. London works better.

8. Stay alert and safe: Most large cities have cameras, and are pretty safe for children to play freely. Play areas in hotels malls are safe too. London and Dubai are very safe in this regard. But still, as a parent, stay close to your child, and have your eyes on them all the time.

9. Self drive: Hire and drive a car if possible. It’s a great way to know the roads and city firsthand. It’s also easier with a child, and if you have shopping bags. It sure beats standing in long queues waiting for taxis!

10. Take in nature: Do as many outdoor activities as the weather permits. Stay in nature and camp in national parks, where mobile network is low. Kids also love swimming pools, so make sure you choose a hotel with a great pool. On a trip to Koh Samui, Thailand, I made sure I chose a resort with a large child-friendly pool.

11. Pack medication: Take along any medicines that your child is used to taking back home. Medication in every country is manufactured differently, and may not suit your child. So take basic medication for cold, cough, fever, allergies, stomach infections etc.

12. Spend quality time: My daughter likes holidays because she spends time with me alone. Back home, she is busy with school and I have work. Kids often need that time out to get reassurance and acceptance from the parent. A holiday conveys to them that they are important to you. The trip I took with my daughter, two years ago, helped us bond in a big way, and she values that till today.

13. Research local nannies: When you travel alone, without a nanny, time management becomes important. You have to do everything yourself — feeding, bathing and getting your child ready for the day. My daughter loves to sleep on holidays, so I make sure I get all my stuff done before she wakes up. But if you decide to hire nannies, try and get them through local references. In Dubai, I hired a nanny from my friend who was living there. I could then step out in the evenings after my daughter was asleep. You could also check if the apartment complex or hotel provides nanny services.

14. Kids can earn holidays: It may be a good idea to let children earn their holiday. Give them a goal to meet, and make the holiday a reward… Last year, I told my daughter that if she learned how to swim without a float, I would take her to South Africa, where the resorts had nice big pools. That was incentive enough, and she learned swimming on her own in a week. This is one way in which kids could earn their trips.

15. Encourage learning: Make your kids try something new on the holiday. They could try learning a new skill, or through a camp encourage them to mix with kids from other countries. They could also try learning a new sport. Children tend to learn more quickly when in new environments, as they are more open to experimenting there. Also, expose them to different cuisines and take them to museums and historical sights to increase their knowledge of different cultures.

16. Click away: Take as many photos as possible, and post very few on social media. Children should know the holiday is about them and not you.

Finally, the reason for a holiday with your child should be the right one — not due to peer pressure or to run away from problems… Only then can you and your child enjoy and benefit from a vacation.

A Travel Check List for your Child

· Medication
· Weather-based clothing
· Stroller, if you need one
· Sports’ gear and suntan lotion
· Food for the plane or car journeys
· Travel insurance for your child and you
· Games and books for entertainment

If you’ve enjoyed the story, do applaud it and share it with your network. And to know more about Soul Dads, write in to souldads@souldads.com

Disclosure: “We may earn a commission for purchases made through the links in this post. This is at no additional cost to you and helps support our blog. We only promote products or services that we believe will add value to our readers.”

https://amzn.to/3Y7vru4

https://bit.ly/3DIlCuE

--

--

CHETAN SHAH
SOUL DADS

Join me, an avid blogger & entrepreneur, on my journey of self-discovery as a devoted father & son. Sharing experiences & wisdom on entrepreneurship, parenting