How the Recent Elections Impacted My Relationships

CHETAN SHAH
SOUL DADS
Published in
7 min readMay 2, 2019
Image by mohamed Hassan from Pixabay

When I read about couples in America getting divorced because one voted for Trump and the other didn’t, I couldn’t believe it… But the situation in the Lok Sabha 2019 elections in India seem pretty much the same — factions have been created, between friends and family, where none existed before.

To say I received flak for my political allegiance is an understatement… I was recently led into an unpleasant altercation at a social event. The episode made me think about the true impact of politics on our social lives.

I had been volunteering with my chosen party for the past few months. Ever since, my friends and family wonder what I’m up to, and question my political choice.

But the fact is, I didn’t choose the party randomly. I evaluated the work done by them, and then took a decision. Also, I didn’t look at it only from my perspective, but how their work impacted the well-being of the whole nation, with full awareness of the fact that no government is perfect.

I have never felt the need to justify my decision, nor have I wanted to convert others into taking the same political stance, but somehow, I was still viewed as an outsider by my social circle…perhaps, because I didn’t share the same views as them.

It was insinuated that I had been influenced from the outside, and like I didn’t have a mind of my own… I became the target for several unpleasant exchanges, even when I had no inclination of talking about politics!

It made me wonder, why can’t we have our own thought processes, and make our independent choices?

If they could support a party of their choice, why couldn’t I? I guess one pays the price when one stands by their choices… You are no longer part of the tribe, and have moved away from collective opinion.

My honest intent to volunteer was to simply give back to my homeland. It was an inner urge to do something for the country, and become more inclusive as an individual.

Serving and giving back to the community is a great way to break barriers created by the mind and body. Hence, I consciously took time away from work, and my family — even from my young daughter who has growing needs — and participated in the campaigning.

Volunteering for the elections involved hours of travelling extra miles in Mumbai traffic every day.

I began working with a team of individuals from different backgrounds: politicians, corporate employees, students, businessmen, retired individuals and homemakers. It was a heady mix of people, each coming in with their own ideas and views. But they were all dedicated and devoted to a single cause — the progress of our nation!

My daughter had seen me volunteer at my spiritual foundation in the past, but when I began to volunteer for a political party, she wondered what I was up to. I explained to her simply that it was our duty to help our nation, and do what we can to ensure that poverty is eradicated, and the nation’s well-being is taken care of.

I did not preach to my daughter, but she got the point, and supported me in the coming days by not complaining about my absence. She knew I was doing what I loved — helping others.

Volunteering for the party involved creating voter awareness campaigns. We called up people to give them updates on the candidate, and the past work done. We also surveyed if people were happy with the candidate’s last term, and how they felt it could improve. Additionally, I tracked the candidate’s news coverage, including the opposition’s views on the candidate.

While I thoroughly enjoyed my time volunteering, I was still sniggered at for doing work which was supposedly ‘beneath me’. This, however, did not deter my commitment or my resolve.

Perhaps a few years ago, I would have cared about other’s views, but now it didn’t affect me at all. Instead, I was filled with empathy for those who needed help, and who I could do something for in return.

I brought back souvenirs from the campaign for my daughter, like T-shirts with the party’s logo and tagline. It was my way of involving her in the work I was doing. I was happy to see that she was managing well without me, and conducting all her day’s activities with ease.

As we approached Election Day, my daughter’s restlessness grew. She was ready to take off for the weekend, though she knew it was a big day for me. She tried to bottle it up, but finally gave in to her tears. So, I spent some time with her, played and laughed, and only left when I saw her tears replaced with smiles!

On the day of elections, my daughter accompanied me to the polling booth. We stood in line with several others, and she watched me cast my vote.

It was also the day to bid adieu to the nominated candidate, who had been a wonderful person to work with. I admired the selfless devotion exhibited and the commitment of the entire team who had worked tirelessly round the clock, even though they had family and commitments of their own… The nation came first for them; that was clear!

I then said goodbye to my fellow volunteers, who had travelled from various places to come together and work for the cause. We had formed a nice bond in the last few days… It was this spirit of camaraderie that I shared with my daughter, telling her how it is important to help others first before you help yourself.

I am grateful that she supported me in my endeavour, and didn’t complain much, even though I was not around. She realised that the experience was essential for my growth.

My friends too in their own way only meant good; and I feel no anger toward them. They were probably just expressing their disapproval on certain governmental policies that didn’t work for them.

I may have been too opinionated as well, and unable to see their point of view. Through the experience, I realised I should more sensitive and inclusive of others’ views, and not focus on what they said, but instead understand the issue at hand from their perspective.

While volunteering, I was simply dedicated to the process, with no goal in mind… It was a great lesson in mindfulness and selfless service.

The experience helped me integrate with people from varied backgrounds, and learn how to work together in harmony… I realised — How could we be friends with our country’s neighbours, if we don’t first mingle freely with our own people?

The need to vote also got highlighted, because if one refrains from exercising his vote, he has no right to complain.

When I got back home,on the last day of volunteering, my daughter happily said — ‘So it’s done… You won’t have to go anymore’.

To which I replied — ‘No… If the party I chose is elected, my work begins now because I will have to participate every day.’

My daughter sighed in response!

The most important duty of citizens is to support whichever party comes into power, and help them do their best. In a country like India, the government has policies, but they need more hands to implement them.

Unless people join hands with the government, it will not be possible to engineer large-scale movements.

This entire experience not only made me feel more confident and capable, but also more level-headed and grounded… I now know there is so much more for me to learn and do. Overall, I gained clarity and insight on how to realise my true potential.

I also got an inside view of politics, and a peek into the real problems of the people, who would often call and talk about issues in their locality. Sometimes the negativity was draining, but thanks to my spiritual practices, I regained energy soon after.

Being a businessman, I gained valuable lessons on taking instructions from others, and learned how to work in a team with a diverse set of people.

I also got a glimpse of the hard work involved in politics. While we may think it’s a dirty profession, it involves a lot of sweat and toil behind the scenes that we do not see.

Volunteering for politics or any social cause at an early age, can be a great way of helping the youth of today break away from their own barriers or those set by society.

I started at mid-life, but I wish I had started much earlier. If one gets involved in nation-building activities early in life, then it will always be ingrained in your mind to work for the country and make a difference to its future.

I hope, as a father, I have set an example for my child, irrespective of the party I chose… Because the process should eventually lead to the well-being of an individual, and growth of the nation as a whole, and not about a particular political party’s victory or failure!

If you liked the blog, do applaud it, share it with your network, or follow Soul Dads for more!

--

--

CHETAN SHAH
SOUL DADS

Join me, an avid blogger & entrepreneur, on my journey of self-discovery as a devoted father & son. Sharing experiences & wisdom on entrepreneurship, parenting