Be your own best advocate

Ai Chen Lim
Soul Magazine
Published in
1 min readDec 13, 2023
Image by <a href=”https://www.freepik.com/free-vector/high-self-esteem-illustration_11107525.htm#query=i%20love%20myself&position=1&from_view=search&track=ais&uuid=3186bb1d-75b7-4bcd-b617-c61ea35f87be">Freepik</a>

“Two roads diverged in a wood, and I —

I took the one less traveled by,

And that has made all the difference.”

~ Robert Frost

Running a boutique consulting firm, I am also taking a journey less traveled by.

As a solopreneur, I no longer have the resources readily accessible to me back in the days of leading a consulting team ~ content design, business development partners or operations support.

Yet I am at peace with the experiences I encounter on this journey.

I get to make all decisions, the way I prefer and aligned with my principles and values.

I enjoy the flexibility of time ~ one that I would not exchange with any other things. For my father and children, I am often just one call and a short car ride away.

I have also learned to be my own, best advocate.

I am who I am, and I have chosen to be my authentic self.

I am special, for the gifts and talents that I uniquely have.

Most importantly, I am kind. And I am spreading kindness in every possible way within my means.

What about you?

Have you chosen to be your own best advocate?

How would you celebrate your individuality?

#liftingotherswithkindness

--

--

Ai Chen Lim
Soul Magazine

A practitioner who brings out the best in people. I run a consulting practice in the talent management space. Learning & development is my ultimate passion.