I Didn’t Watch TV or Movies For a Month, Heres What Happened

An accidental experiment

Jack Whitlock
Soul Magazine
3 min readMay 30, 2024

--

Photo by Nabil Saleh on Unsplash

It’s been a while since I posted. My drive for change and momentum got hijacked by a few life changes, and I haven’t been able to flex this creative muscle. But at least for this post, I’m back.

In the past few months, not much has changed. I’ve tried and failed to keep journaling; it’s become a bit of a task. But a change that I had not noticed in my life until I sat down and thought about something to write about is the change in what I am consuming for entertainment.

I used to just listen to ambient videos while I was focusing. I can set a Pomodoro timer to “a peaceful morning at Hogwarts” and crank out some work. But somewhere along the line in the past few months, I stopped watching normal TV and began only watching ambient videos, or at least videos with no narrative or plot. For the uninitiated, ambient videos usually consist of royalty-free music set to a slowly moving or barely changing picture. These videos are usually at least an hour long and have no defining plot. I also have been watching some Bob Ross reruns (just trying to stay honest).

The only plot I’m experiencing other than real life is my book (currently “The Institute” by Stephen King) and bits and pieces of the Harry Potter audiobook series in the car, whenever my wife turns it on.

Below is the balance between seeking comfort in familiarity and the pros and cons of stepping away from it.

Pros:

Relaxation

Since starting my new diet with no plot, I have noticed one of the biggest changes is relaxation. Not only am I more relaxed in general, but I am also able to relax more easily in stressful scenarios. I can get into a relaxed headspace much faster than before. I feel like instead of being half-distracted all the time, I am locked in. My brain is fully under my control, with no outside influence.

Breaking Free from the Giant Spider

I used to have TV shows on in the background all the time when doing chores or working on projects. Often, I would go to do something away from the screen and quickly find myself back on the couch, caught in the web of Michael Scott yelling at Dwight. The plot of the show dulled my sense of purpose into a fumbling complacency. Now, the magnets connecting the couch to my tailbone have become a lot less strong. I am happy to be up and moving, completing my tasks undistracted and with clear intention.

Strengthening My Mind’s Eye

As with my other deletions of media, my mind’s eye and imagination continue to grow stronger. Daydreaming is easy, creating storylines in my head like when I was a kid with my Legos is an easy muscle to flex now. Daydreaming is fun and honestly probably better for me than TV anyway.

Cons:

Am I Ironing My Brain?

Though this hiatus has been nice, I realized that media keeps my brain moving, thinking of plot lines and figuring out what will happen next in a show. discussing potential outcomes and resolutions with friends, and learning how the show was made, kept me engaged and out of my head. Is having less plot and thought bad for you? Probably, who knows?

Less Stress Relief

Sad as it may seem, I used shows like The Office to unwind, being able to count on the same old episodes to let me escape my stressors and envelope myself in a world where I already know the past, present, and future. I know I said above that I can relax faster, but relaxing while in stress and escaping from stress completely is different.

No End Goal

I think it’s strange that I just slipped into this. Hopefully, it means I’m becoming a less anxious person in general. I don’t think that there was a huge net positive or negative, honestly, it’s just been different. Thought you ought to know.

--

--

Jack Whitlock
Soul Magazine

I want to help driven individuals thrive in the world, build confidence, survive college, and collect offer letters.