How A Solo Night Out Changed My Perspective

Facing Fear on a Solo Journey

Vijayendra Prasad
Soul Magazine
3 min readAug 26, 2024

--

After I crossed the railway station, I was in complete darkness. My phone’s torch was the only light. I couldn’t find a single glow around me. It was around 1:30 am. I saw a bus coming towards me. Thank God.

Photo by Ganapathy Kumar on Unsplash

I made a sudden attempt to hail the bus so I could arrive home safely and quickly. To my bad luck, the driver didn’t stop the bus. I don’t know why.

Again, tension started in my mind. There wasn’t a single person, light, or vehicle around me. The only hope I had left was my mobile. Using my phone’s torch and maps, I started walking towards my destination. My legs were still shivering. If something happened to me, there should be someone to take care of me, right? I was happy because I had enough water to drink and charge my phone.

After travelling 1000 meters, I reached a junction. There were no shops or people. Heavy traffic was moving in the opposite direction of my destination. I found a private bus a short distance away, heading in the direction of my destination. To catch that bus, I had to walk fast or run. Some street dogs were roaming around, and some were staring at me. If I tried to run, they would chase me, and outrunning them was not possible, as we all know. So, I didn’t choose that option. I took rapid strides. Within 10 seconds, I was about to reach the bus, but it sped away. I lost that single hope. There were hotels near this junction, but I couldn’t afford their prices.

As I was at that junction, there was a chance I could catch a vehicle to reach my destination. Almost 30 minutes passed. I prayed for divine help in this situation.

I heard the sounds of tyres and an engine approaching from behind. I turned to my left and saw that it was a goods vehicle. Again, fear started. He would ask me something. What should I say? Should I say yes, or no? If I say no, what will he do? As a boy, all these thoughts came to my mind. I couldn’t even imagine what a girl would do if she were in my shoes.

Suddenly, my father’s words came to mind: “While boarding a vehicle, inform me,” he had told me.

After a few seconds, the vehicle stopped in front of me. As expected, he asked, “Where are you going?” Two seconds of silence. He asked the same question again. It’s not daytime, so no vehicles are available. “Better get into this,” he said. Before getting in, I called my father and informed him; he said, “OK, take care.” Finally, I continued my journey.

I knew that within 30 minutes, I could reach my destination. On the journey in the goods vehicle, the driver and I had a good chat about our work and origins. Meanwhile, I kept wondering why I had been so tense. I felt ashamed to be so fearful.

Visiting new places by myself helps eliminate my fear. I want to roam around and talk to strangers. These are the answers I found when I reflected on my thoughts. I am sure that some of them will definitely help. What do you say?

--

--

Vijayendra Prasad
Soul Magazine

Exploring the world of writing , Technical content writer @ Geeks for Geeks