How Could I Not

A Poem of Gratitude

Lani Domaloy
Soul Magazine
1 min readJan 23, 2021

--

Photos by the author

When everything points to the intricate waves
When the sound of them echoes this joy
When it bounces ashore and slowly retreats
When it disturbs and rolls the pebbles and infinite sand beneath
How could I not smile?

When it flaps its wings to glide obliviously
When it circles against the backdrop of the evening sky
When it nosedives straight to the water for fun
When it opens its beak to squawk
How could I not smile?

When it shows itself in hues of orange, yellow, and pink
When it dances with the clouds to hide its face
When it rushes to disappear beneath the earth
When it resigns its light from a dreary world
How could I not smile?

For my God has given me plentiful reasons to smile
What eyes could not see my joy inside?
How could I not smile when my heart beats in overflow?
Grateful. Blessed. Lighthearted.

--

--

Lani Domaloy
Soul Magazine

Storyteller | Truth Seeker | Lover of Life | Co-Creator of things digital and literary. IG: @dimpledjourney