A SIMPLE ACT OF KINDNESS

Lost Bus, Found Compassion

Of the things we do for strangers

Katy Lin
Soul Magazine
Published in
2 min readMar 29, 2024

--

Photo by Alexis Magnone on Unsplash

Last night, I left work later than usual, but I thought I could still catch the last bus home. As I stood alone at the bus stop, an elderly woman took her time getting off a bus, causing three other buses in line to come to a standstill.

After a couple of minutes, she called out to me, asking if the bus she was planning to take to a particular hospital was the correct one. Uncertain, we both fumbled with the bus numbers to figure out what she meant. As I looked up from our conversation, my bus swept by without stopping.

Unfortunately, that was the bus I was supposed to be on. However, after a split second of contemplation, I continued searching for the elderly woman’s bus number. When I finally found it, I realized her bus would arrive at the station within two minutes. After ensuring she understood what to do, I let her know I was heading off.

Although I missed my bus, I stumbled upon a public bike share and rode a bike home. Some people might hesitate to help others, but in the end, it worked out. It was a pleasure to assist someone in need. And as for her, going to the hospital late in the evening is certainly not something anyone looks forward to. 🌟🚲

--

--

Katy Lin
Soul Magazine

Inspiring all the goodness in life. 💌 Practicing the art of observation.