WorldPoetryDay | MyLilPoem

PHOTOGRAPH AND THE MIRROR

Leela Ramesh
Soul Magazine
Published in
Mar 21, 2024

--

The mind is seeing through the eyes
The retina catches, stores what it sees
The good ones, I hold on to for dear life
To cherish for a long long time, you see?
I fool myself it lasts forever, till eternity!

Photo by Katja Vogt on Unsplash

The witness in me laughs,
Challenges, chides, mocks,
No, I don’t want to be a fool
I tell myself softly but firmly
Meditate! I see a sea change
Retina has become a mirror
Whatever the mind sees and reflects
The image moves away untouched
Heavenly, I am left free!

--

--

Leela Ramesh
Soul Magazine

Meditation teacher, writer, traveller,great chef, incurable optimist, hopelessly romantic,, serious and jovial at once, nature lover and finally a learner!