Cold Brew at Home

Ian Borders
Soul of a Chef
Published in
2 min readDec 8, 2015
Homemade Cold Brew Coffee

I drink alot of coffee. More importantly, I drink alot of good coffee. I’m what some might consider a coffee snob. Luckily for me, some of the best roasters I’ve ever had the pleasure to enjoy are right here in Thailand. Roots (Bangkok), Ristr8to (Chiang Mai), and Cafecito right here in my hometown of Pai, are among the best in the world (in my honest opinion), and I always have a bag or 3 from at least one of these roasters at any given time.

I decided to put some of the beans I had laying around from Cafecito to good use, by making some cold brewed coffee, for my coffee-fueled late night cheesemaking and salumeria planning sessions (more on that soon!).

You need to take alot into account for a good cold brew… grind size, time, coffee to water ratio, type of beans and how they are roasted. The variables are too far and wide to put together a rock solid recipe. Instead, I will outline some basics, and you should try it, and then adjust from there.

- I personally prefer to use a fine espresso style grind, but alot of people think it gets too cloudy with sediment. I don’t mind.

- I use a 5:1 water to coffee ratio (ex. 5 cups of room temperature water, 1 cup of ground coffee)

- Mix and let stand at room temperature for a minimum of 12 hours, up to 24 hours. I do this in a large glass jar, but there are some fancy gadgets you can get for this.

- You would be fine only straining it through cheesecloth, but I take it a step further and pass it through my Aeropress or drip paper, just to minimize the sediment in the final product.

- Chill and enjoy!

--

--

Ian Borders
Soul of a Chef

Founder of CoinSparrow. Designer. Father. American expat in Thailand.