photo-Amy Wambeke (unsplash)

CONSCIOUS STALL

G.R. MELVIN
Soul & Sea

--

.

Under the willow tree I hide my mirror,

small enough to be mistaken for morning dew.

I look for a point of origin, something to explain how and why

we all must see it through.”

.

Encased in impasse,

I couldn’t even eye other passengers

Past my papers.

I wouldn’t watch what

My window offered:

Small towns, & all their lights,

Reflections, inside, of us riding passersby.

We keep on sweeping by.

.

I patch my reflective papers.

Inspecting these all, aspects of my work,

Taking stock, as this stall is a lock still.

I, Y’see, yesterday’s night

I ran nine yellow lights,

& Just as there were dares that didn’t time out right,

I’ll just decide, to still ride

.

.

.

the sublime opening verse is from my favorite online poet

Allison Grayhurst, from “Eating From An Imaginary Spoon” https://wordpress.com/read/feeds/168535/posts/1567304886

--

--

G.R. MELVIN
Soul & Sea

“science of truth isn’t my strong suit. But I can watch from a garage roof; take semi evaluative notes, & make up semi reflective reports, & fake some control”