D O L D R U M S

G.R. MELVIN
Soul & Sea

--

(One New Years Eve)

.

.

I told them all it’s doldrums

All the 12 months long

I expressed it every xmassy card

I dotted every I with frowns

I exclaimed it to all these clowns

.

I fear it’s been a bear market

But I bet & bet my best/ But I failed to divest

But man, it’s only money

But where all that woulda got me

On a ticket outa here

.

So I told them all It’s doldrums

I’ve stayed standing in a stagnant river

My luck, my ebb lost it’s suck

& my flow flounders my Go

I know this new year, I can just know

“I gotta blast, bro’”

.

Later, near midnight, past my last beer,

Past the traditional tribal Mexican feast

Later, at least near midnight, past her

Fast asleep, past the year,

I’ll sail to something I can’t name.

I can get a candle & focus on it’s flame.

.

.

.

.G.R. MELVIN

(photo:”midnight poetry”/GR MELVIN)

--

--

G.R. MELVIN
Soul & Sea

“science of truth isn’t my strong suit. But I can watch from a garage roof; take semi evaluative notes, & make up semi reflective reports, & fake some control”