Dance Of Divine

On the first long night

Radhika Tara Kali
Soul & Sea
2 min readSep 22, 2019

--

Indian Folk Dance painting by Rekha Rai

I stand on the periphery of change
In the middle of the first long night
Chilled winds spiral through my skirts
I rise on the balls of my feet

Adorned with the deepest Prussian blue
Radha floats down at my side
Hekate raises her fingers
Saraswati puts hers to strings
Benzaiten plucks a note
Ragas and Raginis ring
Soon the space grows thick
With divine dancers of ratri¹

Shakti arrives with her consort Shiv
She begins laasya²
The rest follow her lead
A nada³of cosmic drum rises
With it rise thousands of calloused feet
Millions of ghunghroos clink
It’s thunderous
The dance begins

Time ceases to exist
Thoughts fade to nothing
Fatigue fails to touch me
Hunger and thirst?
What are those things
I dance for an eternity
Or maybe just a jiffy
Joy runs through my veins
The Eternal Sea embraces me

A bell rings in interruption
My eyes fly open
It was all just a dream

~

Radha

¹Goddess of the night in Hinduism

² Laasya is the dance of creation that the Goddess Adi-Shakti dances to create the Multiverse and everything-biotic and abiotic-in it

³The term ‘Nada’ is a Sanskrit word which means musical sound, ‘Nada’ is a combination of ‘Nakar’ means life or breath and ‘Dakar’ means fire or energy. When there is a combination of breath and energy ‘Nada’ or musical sound is produced. (src: Hindustani Classical Music Theory)

In response to the Mabon/Equinox prompt by Vaishali Paliwal

--

--

Radhika Tara Kali
Soul & Sea

Bisexual. Polyamorous. Cis-woman. Also, I’m Slytherclaw.