Volodymyr Hryshchenko (upsplash)

DOLLAR STORE GLASSES

G.R. MELVIN
Soul & Sea
Published in
1 min readJan 3, 2020

--

“And we kissed, as though nothing could fall (nothing could fall)” from “Heroes,” Bowie

“I never touch you” from “Breaking Glass,” Bowie

.

.

I wear dollar-store glasses
they help me work on perspective.
I live for nothing I can think of. fact.
It’s suggested I might just strive for focus.
In my day bed i might live
with one window & uncertainly my curtain cracked

I can wear one seventy five
On dollar-store glasses
I passed par for an old guy.
I’m far from passed, muy alive.
Tho’ she could present a good argument
Contesting that mad “muy” adjective.
I abstain again & again
And I’d hate to publicly substantiate

--

--

G.R. MELVIN
Soul & Sea

“science of truth isn’t my strong suit. But I can watch from a garage roof; take semi evaluative notes, & make up semi reflective reports, & fake some control”