Ecstatic Sea Of Alpenrose

Vaishali Paliwal
Soul & Sea
Published in
2 min readMar 12, 2021
Image by Author

This is the sound and sight of pure bliss.

Of a branch of rose I have found in all my travels ranging from the Himalayan alpine summer to hot and humid winter of a coastal city of west, to the subtle spring of an urban beast.

I have a memory of another kind of Alpenrose that I grew up with in India. It was a sign of the summer vacation we were about to enter into during school days. It had a fragrance unlike the ones I have seen on this side of the planet.

Today as I stopped by to gaze at this bunch of Alpenrose, I have to admit, I entered a trance as the sweet songs of the birds gave me company and we dived together in the ecstatic sea of the alpenrose.

Are there any other experiences out there more sublime than this very moment? This gathering of flower, human and bird, their pinkness, their eye, their music?

Look at what we are breathing through together here. This unexplainable miracle of biology and soul. This minuscule record from the endless length of space and time, and yet the very moment where universes birth and disappear.

Who is dreaming this moment, as one ‘I’ sees and writes this moment of consciousness? Who is this I, I refer to here? I, the experiencer. I, the recorder. I, the dreamer? I, the one here typing it away, different from the I who entered a trance with the alpenrose. These temporary Is forming and dispersing.

I, dissociated from the memory, in the very now of this line, in the ecstasy of life, this sensual flow, this magical union.

And one I, looking at the I above, and not knowing what it is.

V Paliwal

Submit to the Soul & Sea Poetry Prize!

--

--