I Choose

Valerie Gray
Soul & Sea
Published in
1 min readDec 3, 2019

Free Verse

Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

A part of me is under the influence of unworthiness

A cozy and inseparable companion to suffering

The lifelong meddler that tries to convince me that I’ve made a permanent deal somewhere along the way, and I’m forever in its debt

Swaying me to believe that suffering is ordinary, everyone does it, no reason to seek help, I will protect you, I am your ride-or-die

I hunger for freedom from this trigger which keeps creeping back and attempts to reel me back in

Coming in between me and my Divine Source

Coming in between me and my desire to be liberated, boundless, and seen

Yes, to be seen

The deep voice within suggests I invoke the ones I affectionately call “the midwives”

My unseen support when I am letting go of the old or birthing the new

The ones who share my devotion

Sitting quiet and listening for what wants to emerge

I lose myself in the Shakti and hear them say “you choose”

I choose

I choose not to suffer

I choose not to let the outer world dictate my inner emotional state

I choose love, which needs no external cause

I choose to experience love and perfection within my Self

I am worthy

--

--

Valerie Gray
Soul & Sea

Stories on my Path of Waking Up, Growing Up and Showing Up, Breathwork, Meditation, Recovering Over-Thinker (Instagram:@valeriegray808)