Just Visiting — a poem

Simon Heathcote
Soul & Sea
Published in
1 min readSep 3, 2019
Photo by Mehmet Kürşat Değer on Unsplash

I live in the liminal, alone mostly

Between the spaces unnoticed by others

On thresholds and hinterlands, which exist

Like countries that never make the news

Or a forgotten meadow amid wasteland

A jungle that no human has ever seen

I like shadow, life’s concave underbelly

Something breathes here that cannot

Elsewhere, on the surface of life

Amid the fighting tribes of history

If I remain here long enough, I find

A long forgotten rhythm which pulses

I am smaller than the smallest thumb

Dancing to a different drum

I look at the weed and the unsung

Where is my desire to join your throng?

I think my wanting maybe said and done

Do we really need to belong?

I was just passing through

©simon heathcote

--

--

Simon Heathcote
Soul & Sea

Psychotherapist writing on the human journey for some; irreverently for others; and poetry for myself; former newspaper editor. Heathcosim@aol.com