Moon Garden

My ghazal

Vaishali Paliwal
Soul & Sea
2 min readSep 5, 2019

--

Promise me, we would still have our moon garden.
After it all, we would still have our moon garden.

You refuse to leave, you do not want to stay.
In between your yes and your no, all I can rely on is our moon garden.

You are so far it will take a thousand lives to touch you.
I take small steps towards your skin by holding the roses of our moon garden.

Were you always so cruel or did life take its stab on you?
Either way you reject me — the poor caretaker of our moon garden.

You are the silent king of this game and me the turbulent queen of red storms.
You can ignore my wanting breath or you can join me here in our moon garden.

In the dark corner of a lost city you write away your labor of life.
How long should I wait for you to find the light here that is in our moon garden?

Tell me that world hasn’t gone all sour and our love still has a seed.
That you shall still find your way to our moon garden.

Look the night becomes thicker now and all the petals go to sleep.
Here I wait for you forever in our moon garden.

~

Vaishali Paliwal

For many obvious reasons this is not a Ghazal. But I am taking it slow and raw. I will find my way to my Ghazal without method and without story.

In the meantime enjoy one of my favorite English Ghazals by Agha Shahid Ali.

Also enjoy below intelligent stab on A Bastard Ghazal by Jack Preston King that orginally inspired me to find my way to my Ghazal.

--

--