Nostalgia & Never alone

Tulip Chowdhury
Soul & Sea
Published in
2 min readJan 3, 2021

--

Poetry

Memories add and subtract the yeats lived.

1. Nostalgia

The little girl in me wakes up

and blinks eyes in wonder

at the sight of dewdrops on the grass,

a ladybug, a balloon

or the sight of a rabbit’s tail.

they fill me with delight

just as they did

some five decades ago

and I was a little girl;

happy and free.

When the little one within

dances and twirls on her toes,

the aging ‘Me’ wanders off somewhere

to take a break from life’s chores

she escapes to childhood

and finds heaven there.

2. Never Alone

There is a pleasure in being by myself

far from the humdrum of life:

times when I am all wrapped

with attention to my genes within.

Those genes and my DNA

representing my ancestors

wait for me to connect with them

without the worry of worldly rides.

Here is the thing about being alone:

one is never really so

for the spirits, genes, or the DNA

are always with me

whether I’m dead or alive.

Tulip Chowdhury writes from Massachusetts, USA

--

--

Tulip Chowdhury
Soul & Sea

There are moments of magic and challenges in living this earthly life. May my wings soar through the blessed energy of the universe.