Prayer Through Mountains

JL Myles
Soul & Sea
Published in
2 min readJan 11, 2020
Photo taken on Sulfur Mountain in Banff, Alberta, Canada. January 2020.

Entered upon a snow dusted inclined earth, feet free from perspiration we took our first weighted steps.

Sore necks coiled by furniture box springs, dishes washed with homemade citrus soaps. Humid alpine air graced lungs and breathes felt like snow flakes descending. Food-chain breakfasts, last minute shopping, mountain climbing, tires spinning, lovers laughing, adventure awaiting.

A prime parking spot encouraged a notion the duo were operating efficiently and accurately. Narrow switchbacks, unbalanced look-backs, cherry cough drop. Stop to listen, and hear nothing. Serenities silence slows situational synapses by slashing societies less-than shimmering shriek.

– a time and place, a mood and space.

Cresting covered snowbanks revealed the timberlines wisdom. Movements slower and more controlled, he places a bare palm upon bark and prays:

It is through you that I have become this, I feel whole. I am thankful for who you’ve made me and who I’ve become. Gratitude for more than now, for years of how, you follow, light shadow. Thank you for the test yesterday. It kept me mindful of how lucky I am to be. You set out a daunting task to challenge me. Despite moments of soul vulnerability, I over came this challenge, clearer I could see. You keep me humble and remind me that life could always be worse. I am ready. I am ready for the next test. Continue to guide me.

A message to the universe is received upon the flight of a large Crow. No judgements in his mind for the method of which his message is delivered.

Numbered steps to reach the summit. Paused in their minds, the glare at the feat accomplished. They breath in gratitude for the canvas their eyes are cast upon. They breath out happiness into snowflakes for others. They are together in the time and place, the mood and space.

--

--

JL Myles
Soul & Sea

Just kind of winging it · All original photos, unless otherwise stated. For the colour: IG: Jordanmyles