The Ferocity of Necessity

Simon Heathcote
Soul & Sea
Published in
1 min readJul 23, 2019
Photo by Nicole Honeywill on Unsplash

This head of mine tells me stories

Of predictable gloom, of past pain.
So I have to trust my heart and its
Sudden surge of feeling, which
Catches me unawares and races
Towards the smell of your familiarity
And our conjoining.

We are so entwined now that I am
Inconsolable without you near me.
Can you feel this force field that
Pulls us nearer, that demands
Our togetherness with the Ferocity
Of Necessity?

It is, I think, the power of love
And a need that must be met.
It hinges on our absolute loyalty
that must be forged in fire like
The strongest iron, unbreakable
and tested in the heat of passion.

And witnessed in a sacred ritual
in words straight from God,
One to the other.

http://www.soulvision.co.uk

--

--

Simon Heathcote
Soul & Sea

Psychotherapist writing on the human journey for some; irreverently for others; and poetry for myself; former newspaper editor. Heathcosim@aol.com