Love Isn’t a Feeling. It’s a Choice.

Here is why the remark, “I just fell in love, I couldn’t help it,” is incorrect.

image by Alexander Krivitski from Unsplash.com

I know. I’m speaking contrary to so much of literature, movies, books, television shows, poetry. Love isn’t a feeling? Bullsh*t, you’re likely saying. Of course, it’s a feeling. I’ve felt it myself, many of you are probably thinking.

Attraction is a feeling. Lust is a feeling. Affection is a feeling. Excitement is a feeling. Adoration is a feeling.

Love, though, is not a feeling. It’s an action and a choice.

You don’t just “fall in love.” You choose to turn toward and pursue growing and staying in love with someone.

Consider: I meet someone who strikes my fancy, so I go on dates with him or her. We go on two, three, four dates, and I am smitten, head over heels, excited about this one. Yet, let’s say for whatever reason, I stop spending time with them. I get a new job offer and move away across the country. I get scared and decide I’m not ready for an intimate, committed relationship so I cease seeing them.

Well, then I am not going to fall in love with this person. I disrupted the process. I turned away. I halted the possibility in its tracks by doing…

--

--