A Refreshing Drink to Quench my thirst in Bali, Indonesia

It’s been twenty-five years since my last visit here

Órla K.
Soul Travel
3 min readMay 21, 2023

--

Photo taken by author

I don’t who’s changed more, me or Bali, but either way, it’s good to be back.

I didn’t realize Indonesia was so big with a population of 273.8 million.

Wow! That’s a lot of people.

When you come from a small island like Ireland with a population of just 5.003 million, it’s hard to get your head around numbers like that.

I thought Vietnam was big with a population of 98 million.

Then Malaysia, where I’ve just been, has a population of 33.5 million, small in comparison.

Not only do I have to adjust my mind to the size of this country and the language, but the currency is another minefield.

When I lived in Vietnam and had to deal with millions of Dong, I struggled big time at the beginning as I had no concept of working with such large numbers.

The biggest note I ever held before was a 100 or 500 Euro, or Punt note as it was pre-Euro.

As I learned to count six zeros daily, I asked God was he preparing me to become a millionaire. Anyway, in the end, it was fun.

Below is a photo of 100,000 Indonesian Rupiah notes.

100,000 IDR is worth €6.20 or $6.70.

To give you an idea, my taxi from the airport cost me 250,000 IDR which was about a 6km drive.

Indonesian Rupiah (IDR): 100,000 notes: Photo taken by author

My first Balinese meal was Nasi Goreng. The taxi driver recommended it, so I had it for lunch today at the beach.

Nasi goreng (fried rice) is one of Indonesia’s most notable dishes. It’s made by stir-frying cooked rice with a combination of meats and vegetables, ranging from scrambled eggs, diced beef, strips of chicken, shrimp, anchovies, lamb, crab, green peas, onions, shallots and a blend of kecap manis (sweet soy sauce) and hot chilli sauce. The presentation usually features the typical toppings — sliced tomatoes and/or cucumber, fried shallots, fish or shrimp krupuk (crackers), and acar (mixed pickles).

hotels.com

It was delicious! 👍❤

Nasi goreng: a traditional dish in Indonesia

It was a nice relaxed restaurant on the seafront and the waitress was a lovely Indonesian girl interested in hearing about my travels.

The beach wasn’t too crowded yet there were enough people to give it a holiday atmosphere.

This area is good for surfing, especially for those who are looking to have lessons.

That’s all I have to say today.

Tomorrow I’m meeting up with some new friends.

Indonesia is also famous for its beautiful islands. There are over 17,000 islands. I hope to learn more about them soon.

What an adventure it would be to visit even a fraction of them.

Thank you for reading!

If you would like to know how I broke through my fears so I could live my best life now, click below to receive your FREE eBook:

# 7 Ways to Break Free from Fear and Live Your Best Life Now!

--

--

Órla K.
Soul Travel

Learn about mental, emotional, and spiritual heath. Top writer in Travel. Christian Life Coach/Substack: https://orlakenny.substack.com/