On Finding Purpose Through Travel

An English Adventure Awaits…

Zane Fleming
Soul Travel
Published in
4 min readApr 27, 2022

--

A photo from a visit to Switzerland in 2017

Act I

I am in the midst of another adventure, with the biggest leg about to begin. And I am thankful.

After finishing an eight month PR contract with a tech company here in the U.S. in February, the time was right for me to take a sabbatical. This contract graciously came to me after taking a leap of faith last year to leave a marketing job I had been in for three years, and focus on writing, which didn’t last too long. Yet, leaps of faith are often rewarded. We walk by faith, not by sight.

I was fortunate enough to have been intentional throughout the contract to save money, so that the doors were then graciously opened for me to leave the rolling hills of Tennessee, which has been my home for the past three years.

Many people believe they must work for years in the traditional sense, to build a career, or to build wealth. That is certainly wise and good to do, but life is not linear. Rather, life is an adventure. There are different paths to follow, and different roads to take.

After finishing my contract, I decided to hit the road. I drove 16 hours over two days, weaving through the busy highways of Louisville and Cincinnati, sleeping in a very nice finished attic in Cleveland (Airbnb), hugging Lake Erie…

--

--

Zane Fleming
Soul Travel

Feeling overwhelmed? Find peace of mind with my new book Living, Simplified: https://amzn.to/38CBIce