A Conversation With a Wizard About Friendships

Set them free like kites in the sky

Vandini Sharma
Soul Vanni
3 min readAug 22, 2020

--

By Paige from Unsplash

Wizard: Come here, weary traveler. I see you have wandered far and wide in search of me.

Elsa: True. I did seek you. I found you out for myself.

Wizard: Why take all that trouble, my young friend?

Elsa: I just wanted a friend. Somehow, I always want friends flying around me like butterflies.

Wizard: Is that true?

Elsa: Yes! They give me a sense of real joy. Connecting with them makes me feel young.

Wizard: But you are barely an adult.

Elsa: Ah, but I do have a mind that is too grown up and wise.

Wizard: If you are wise enough, why come here to seek wisdom from me?

Elsa: I believe you are truly good. But in the past, that very thought has been my undoing.

Wizard: Your dangerous mistake?

Elsa: Yes. Believing people were whom I thought they were. Believing friends were these golden ideals in my head, and I clung on to them. Time was drifting by, moving us between different spaces and times. Yet I did not let go of them.

Wizard: Are you glad of that?

Elsa: I have fondness inside my heart for the memories we shared. But it seems like I will have to live forever in that memory with them. Reality can give me no more. It’s broken now. All those friendships, old and new, are broken. Broken to pieces in a brutal way.

Wizard: I see you have experienced pain and heart break. Yet your chin is held high and you do not seem to be maliciously vengeful from the light within your eyes.

Elsa: I can’t get angry at them. I just can’t. But I still want you to tell me something.

Wizard: I am at your service.

Elsa: Why? I can’t understand why all this would happen, all at once. I know I cannot look back. If I look back, I’m lost.

Wizard: Yes. Then isn’t it better you let go?

Elsa: I set them free like kites. I think I tugged on those strings too tight, and the thread has cut my hand and made it bleed. Let them sail free in the wind.

Wizard: You have so much to give this world. I see it in your demeanor. So much love, excitement, sunshine and goofiness.

Elsa: Yes. But doesn’t it hurt, when you get none of it back?

Wizard: Do you give it so you can get it back?

Elsa: I — what?

Wizard: Listen to me, young one. You give the world your best, and it may stay silent. But give the world your best anyway. Do it for the joy.

Elsa: I love to bring joy to others. That is my honest truth.

Wizard: Do it for the joy of experiencing that light.

Elsa: Not everyone has that.

Wizard: You must be special in some way.

Elsa: I can control my actions. But I cannot control their consequences, when they are hurtful in a way I did not expect.

Wizard: But do not fear. Set yourself free. Let these experiences mold and shape you into choosing your friends better, to become wiser. Let life flow like a river. Don’t clutch on to them. You don’t require them as much as you think you do.

Elsa: I don’t?

Wizard: You don’t. The people who matter to you most are your family.

Elsa: True.

Wizard: Be stronger, young one. Be brave.

Elsa: I am strong enough to get through this pain. I can heal it.

Wizard: You are strong enough.

Elsa: I set them free. I’m happy within myself.

Wizard: That is your truth. And don’t you forget it.

--

--

Vandini Sharma
Soul Vanni

I write soulful & heartwarming stories to inspire you. 💖 Awarded & published 🇮🇳 writer - AP, Forbes, New York Times & 50+ publications worldwide.