A Small Poem for Bhai’s Birthday

My big brother just turned 24 ❤

Vandini Sharma
Soul Vanni
2 min readJul 21, 2020

--

Today is that dawn of July you don’t want us to make a big fuss about
But for your family, you are a bluebell that does not appear every day
Golf tournaments and globe-trotting is the life you chose
And you whisked us all along for the starry eyed ride as well

You work so hard, but I know you for the lark you are
A goofball that sails the winds
Trying to rap like a true blooded gangster
But no matter how ridiculous you get
The deep care you carry in your heart pierces
Just like light I witness in the heavenly stars

Be safe, my brother.
Be healthy and strong.
I know you have miles to go before you can rest
But for my sake, you must promise
Not to lose that child-like swagger of yours
In life’s slightly mind numbing hustle

Time and effort will grow to blossom you
Into everything I believe you have potential to be
And I will hold your hand
Following your steps until the very end
Waiting for the opportunity when you want
The warmth of your truest and oldest friend
Because standing just behind your sunlit shadow
You will always discover me

--

--

Vandini Sharma
Soul Vanni

I write soulful & heartwarming stories to inspire you. 💖 Awarded & published 🇮🇳 writer - AP, Forbes, New York Times & 50+ publications worldwide.