Healed by Nature

A poem about the difference between humans and nature

Vandini Sharma
Soul Vanni
2 min readJul 6, 2021

--

I know that I am strong
Yet I am but nineteen
When the flying arrows of the internet pierced me without reason
When I only wanted to make a friend
But was greeted with slurs
And some youth’s shameless disregard for life instead
I was hurt, quietly, within

The next morning
I walked into a forest
And the gentle oak giants smiled at me for no reason
The sunlight sparkled on grass dewdrops as if just for me
The embrace nature gave me
In all it’s grandeur
In it’s beauty that asks for no recognition

A beauty so much more
Graceful than humankind’s hunger for attention

It healed me completely from within
As if the wound was filled
By a serene awakening
As if the boundless evergreen glade

The branches intersecting through dawn’s sky
Were made just for my eyes
The apple red rose that hides under a hedge
Was a gift planted just for me

I felt as if God
As if the universal force of life
That courses within us all
Was healing me anew
It was embracing me when humankind failed to
In a quietude that demanded nothing
And it gave me faith
That I’d find people to befriend
Who still remained kind & true.

--

--

Vandini Sharma
Soul Vanni

I write soulful & heartwarming stories to inspire you. 💖 Awarded & published 🇮🇳 writer - AP, Forbes, New York Times & 50+ publications worldwide.