Home Nest of A Cat & Dog

A poem about siblings and memories in a veil of time

Vandini Sharma
Soul Vanni
2 min readNov 29, 2020

--

The language of sibling love is imprecise
What counts as a foul, and what is fair?
You say come here and I say go there
Let’s fly an aeroplane today
Over the blue skies; so sparkling
So bright in our radiant skies

You asked me to skate
So I put on my roller blades and trundled
Along a stone riddled path
On our neighborhood concrete roads
And you asked me to swim
So I jumped in the water and flapped about helplessly
While you practiced wrestling moves on me
But you made sure to keep me out of the deep end
We always floated in the shallows of the water.

You were like the dawn’s early light
I rose everyday to your antics
Your words whispering in my ears at all hours of the day
Be it snark, mischief or jokes
That I thought were so smart
I wished I could make them.

Older you is smart and sweet
Downright goofy
Quiet and mysterious
Hardworking and gentle
You were the whisper behind my every memory
And you still are
The person I can always go to

Siblings are cornerstones
You can make a memory or break it
In the fast passing, ever-memorable playground of childhood
When we were younger we had brighter eyes and clearer smiles
Just you and me in a memory
Now even as the world around us
Spins lightening fast and
There’s so much change and change to process
You and I shall stay the same forever

--

--

Vandini Sharma
Soul Vanni

I write soulful & heartwarming stories that hope to inspire 💖 Awarded & published 🇮🇳 writer: AP, Forbes, New York Times & 50+ publications worldwide. 🖋️