I Wrote A Poem For My Heart

You create me to be the me I value most ❤

Vandini Sharma
Soul Vanni
2 min readMay 7, 2022

--

Art credits to an amazing anonymous Pinterest artist. You rock!

A few words I directly addressed to my heart:

You have been like a warm ball of light to live with
Holding your balance somewhere that felt
Right in the center of my ribcage
Like a swell of emotional energy
Though I know that’s not where a heart
Is biologically supposed to be

You are an empathic one, my little heart
Flowing like a tide in any direction that moves you
You feel more deeply than most others
Because I find myself more lost in my emotions than most

The pain of other people always reaches my notice without fail
You never fail to make me pay attention
To the emotions and thoughts of my life’s characters
Yet — it can hurt, you see
To feel this much

To feel a current of emotion go through you
Like a sudden burst of shivers
When you float on the tide
Of a song that is just deeply important to you
Or an old memory from long ago that is still blue
Your memory of a look on someone’s face

You can be quite emotionally exhausting, my heart
For you have this rare ability
You make me observe the world
And instantly feel for it too
In that one flutter of time’s fluid movement
You just thrust me into something new

But don’t fear my thoughts on all this
For despite the troubles & joys you put me through
I don’t regret you
I am still grateful for you
I realise
That it is your uniqueness that makes me
Exactly the kind of human I am today

If I feel emotions more seriously
Just because of your inborn form that naturally exists within me
Know that I don’t mind it
And that I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Because whether you make me feel any hesitancy
Or fly by roundabouts of worry or unreasonable dreams
Even if it pains me a bit, to have you sometimes

You also hold my gratitude for life
And all my lightness of spirit
You have compassion for others and compassion for me too
You create me to be
The me I value most

And so my heart, never change
For I love you just as you are
Your existence makes my life come in innumerable shades
Your glimmering rainbows still look beautiful to me
Even if life pours with blue thunderstorms all around
You make me notice everything
You make me a better person

And I see you for the way you are
Well intentioned, simple and sweet
Just my child-like little heart that blows away
Like a dandelion riding the winds of life
Always bringing new magic into my sight

--

--

Vandini Sharma
Soul Vanni

I write soulful & heartwarming stories to inspire you. 💖 Awarded & published 🇮🇳 writer - AP, Forbes, New York Times & 50+ publications worldwide.