Bhai : The 18 Year Old Goofball Golfing Prodigy

This interview was also published in Golf Plus India

Vandini Sharma
Soul Vanni
6 min readMar 16, 2016

--

Bhai, as I address my brother Shubhankar, started golf the year I was born. It was in Wellington, Tamil Nadu, in the Wellington Gymkhana Club, in the year 2002, that Bhai wielded a club for the first time. My father was posted there in those days. Ever since I remember, golf has been a central theme in our household discussions. Not politics or movies, though we do receive some religion and spirituality thanks to Mama. a bit of religion-thanks to my mom, but otherwise it just plain golf.

Today Bhai has already made a place for himself in the golfing circles, and he just turned 18 in July. He has been a national champion at 16, maybe the youngest ever to do that. He also went on to win his first professional title at 17, in April this year at Kochi, for which they dubbed him as ‘King of Kochi’. Maybe as they say, he has arrived.

Recently, I went with him during the Kashmir swing of the PGTI tournaments and had a chance to look at him in a different light. I caddied for him a couple of times. And, he is a different guy on the field; no longer the goofball or the bossy older brother fighting for his share of Maggi noodles at home. For the next 5 hours, he inhabited a different world. The focus was everpresent.

It was after this experience that I decided to officially interview him and pick his mind, and it was revealing. Here’s our conversation:

Okay, let’s start Bhai. Tell me; was the win in Kochi bigger than the All India Amateur title for you?

Well….that’s a hard one to start with! (smiles) I’ll say both were simply amazing. Looking deeper, I suppose the Kochi win was bigger as the field was totally different; much stronger to the one we had for the All India Amateur Championship. Winning as a professional is different. But then, the All India Amateur Open Championship also was big. It carries a lot of history and prestige with it as it is the biggest tournament on the amateur circuit. It was my first big win at that stage. It is really hard to say which is more important Vanni.

How has been graduating to the professional tour so early? Are your studies getting affected?

On the professional tour, it has been great, actually! You saw me through the first year; it is really hard in the beginning. But as you go along, the game starts developing and you start looking at things in a different perspective.That’s definitely the best part. As for studies (smiles, knowing he can’t fool me here) — of course they are a priority. I try to give as many exams I can during the year. But it gets hard juggling tournament timings and exams in between. I will do it well though, you know that!

Indeed, you’re no slacker. Even if you do end up being a last minute crammer! That’s the old school saying for some, isn’t it? When you study the day before the exams but just do incredibly decent. Moving on, we recently went to Pahalgam for a tournament. How was it? Golf is slowly picking up in Kashmir, what do you say?

I think Pahalgam was really like a vacation! The weather was awesome. The valley, mountains and the river with freezing cold water! It was a great fun to be there with all of us as a family together. I’m sure it’s the start of good golfing days in Kashmir; perhaps soon we’ll have some players from there. on the tour too. Why not? The course itself was really beautiful. Must have been a bit tiring for you caddying for me in the Pro Am! (laughs)

Hey, I wasn’t tired, I’m thirteen you know? I carried the bag for full eighteen holes! Now tell me, how are pro tournaments different from amateur ones?

I mean, you won’t get such great weather and ambiance as in Kashmir in all the places. As far as the competition, don’t get me wrong, it’s first rate. As for the amateur years, it was competitive out there, of course, but in a different way. I think pro tournaments certainly raise the bar. When you are competing with professionals, with years of experience behind them, the pressure is definitely different. But I think it’s all worth it. You learn and progress a lot faster on the professional tour!

Do you think golf is being promoted well in India? I mean, we don’t see too many young people of my and your age playing golf?

Having been to almost all the golfing destinations in the Eastern world in recent times, I feel that PGTI is doing a great job. We have a very efficient and rewarding pro tour in our country. On the amateur golf side, IGU is also doing a reasonably good job with the young golfers and giving them a lot of opportunities to play in India and abroad, though I believe they can do a lot better. So yes, golf is developing. I think a good way to popularize it will be to introduce it in schools. It is important to teach children young.

As far more young people coming to golf, I think we have moved forward. Of course, a sport like cricket is bigger in our country. But it is pointless beyond a level, because it negatively affects the attention other equally worthy games get. How many nations worldwide are playing cricket after all? Luckily, the attention is slowly shifting to other sports in India, and golf is definitely one of them. Young people will come. Wait for all of us to make more positive moves on the international circuit. It won’t be too long now!

Any tips for young amateurs out there? How were your own amateur years?

The most important lesson is to be resilient. Keep working and don’t let yourself give up the game if you love it. That seems like basic advice, but I have found it to be the most important one. My own amateur years were rather short. But my biggest support was my parents. You know how Papa and Mama would enter into hours of discussions with me before we arrived at the decision of me turning pro.

I hope all parents are as open minded towards their children’s dreams and aspirations as our parents.

That would be awesome! Parents have to think differently. Anyone else you would like to thank for this golfing journey, I mean apart from me? (laughs?)

Ha, you definitely have always been a great sport, Vanni. I am proud of you! You have seen how Papa and Mom have stood up and brought me to the present levels. I can’t say enough about that, perhaps won’t be able to do that ever in my life.

In the environment, DLF has been a huge help. They have been amazing in their support. They are one of only few in our country who truly value a golfer and understand his needs and requirements. A big thank you to them for what they are doing for me. They will always be close to my heart, irrespective.

That is lovely. Now hang in there with me, I don’t want to bore you with too many questions. Last one. What is the most important lesson golf has taught you?

Wow, that’s a good question for the end!

Patience, I think, is my biggest lesson from golf. A lot of people have talent and even money to train, but few are able to work long enough to gain success. It takes a lot of time and a lot of work. And not everyone has the patience for that. So try being patient. Be resilient.

--

--

Vandini Sharma
Soul Vanni

I write soulful & heartwarming stories to inspire you. 💖 Awarded & published 🇮🇳 writer - AP, Forbes, New York Times & 50+ publications worldwide.