My First Ever Writer Interview!

The Indian Express’s Nitin Sharma asked interview questions

Vandini Sharma
Soul Vanni
4 min readAug 8, 2019

--

*I’ve edited a few responses on my blog here with time, don’t mind me please*

What is your passion?

My passion is writing, and it is truly the love of my life. I always like to say that it chose me before I chose it, because I began writing at a truly tender age. It’s my aim to inspire and bring joy to people with my stories.

What prompted you to get into online blogging?

There were several things, and one of them is the author John Green! I was fourteen and reading an interview of his one evening in my bedroom. I realised how his own social media ventures as a writer has catapulted his readership. His channel ‘Vlogbrothers ‘ had today grown into a legion of awesome nerds and exciting projects. I was so excited to know such a thing could exist. So I decided to begin my own creative journey online.

What does your work entail?

I went through many journeys and processes trying to figure out what exactly was my style. I’ve been doing the Comprehensive Writers Bureau Course since I was twelve. Thus I now know the writing sea is a huge ocean where many fish can swim! But over the years, I narrowed it down to fiction and storytelling.

Do you have to clear any tests?

Well since you’re a writer, and there’s not a completely traditional route to that kind of job, no one’s really going to force to go to college! Thus only you can decide for yourself what you require. I believe every writer should go through a course, a training of some kind or a bootcamp to bring out their best. College is an amazing idea!

Any memorable anecdotes?

So far, I am thankful to God for many good experiences. One of the best was when Mr. Doug, a senior writer at the Associated Press, sat beside me at his desk it the Masters press building. I was unsure that day, and I asked him that day if I’d only I’d had a chance to be published by the AP because my brother was a prominent golfer. I thought another writer like me might have to work much longer to get here. And he told me to think of things through the AP’s perspective. They had heard about my brother as the new rising Indian golfer who was a star this year. He was coming to the Masters. Now, Mr. Doug told me, if my brother had any other sister, one who say, dance or paint really well; the AP wouldn’t have been able to choose her to write for them. When the opportunity came, I was able to use it. I think he implied that I deserved the opportunity in this way.

What is the biggest high of your work?

Till today, I think it’s just sitting quietly in a nature place with my work and finding joy in being meaningful and creative.

Any complaints being a writer?

Well really, not many! Perhaps one would be about artistic responsibility. It’s my experience that as a young writer, it takes a lot of time and effort to get good at your work. In that time you must go around appreciating the work of other creatives to learn from them. But the disadvantage is, with their advanced imaginative prowess and articulation ability, they may sway your mindset and powerfully to a piece of advice that only works for them. Their unbending opinions might make you think like there isn’t another option for you. In the end, you cannot allow someone else to define your creativity and your storytelling. You have to take the advice works and discard what doesn’t, even if it comes from someone you admire.

Also when it comes to our stories being put out into the world, I have another principle: Writers must hold artistic responsibility for what they create. They have to think about the effect their work may have on others, and whether it is beneficial or not. That’s really an unbreakable ethic for me.

Your future plans?

I’m just going to keep writing and take things one step at a day. I believe good things come on their own. Just remain hopeful and resilient.

Any inspirations?

I feel inspired by the people and real experiences around me, and also the lessons life gives me. There are some amazing emotions a human can feel living in a small but beautiful planet in the universe.

Share some of your Masters 2018 experience?

It was the most beautiful time ever. I’ve already shared an anecdote above though. The part of the story I adore most is when Bhai says, ‘I’ll get us there one day, Vanni.’ I also learnt perseverance, professionalism and found truly heart touching appreciation in those times. It was absolutely an awesome time!

Life mantra?

Let me try and come up with a quote:

Believe in your ability to shape your world. Nothing has the power to scare or break you without your willing consent.

--

--

Vandini Sharma
Soul Vanni

I write soulful & heartwarming stories to inspire you. 💖 Awarded & published 🇮🇳 writer - AP, Forbes, New York Times & 50+ publications worldwide.