Trouble-Maker

An ode to my last memories of high school

Vandini Sharma
Soul Vanni
1 min readSep 15, 2019

--

Yaoyao ❤

Whenever I go somewhere new
I tend to upset and set things askew.
It’s no fun always winning at everything
When people around you don’t ever love it
Or even deign to blink.

But if you ignite the goofball within
You’ll find a girl who keeps
Grooving and dancing in her own skin
Tears are not a weakness & shouting is not a sin
Because the battlefield of childhood
Can make you feel as unsure
As a fish on water with no fins.

But no flightless fish am I
Reaching on the shoulders of new friends
I have slowly learnt to fly
Floating ahead from the stories of my past
Today’s starlit sky may reveal a new start
And even though home is far away
My family turning into just
A warm shadow behind my back for now
I’m still trying to find the real me within

A girl whose trust in life’s miracles lasts
Someone who observes how beautiful even darkness looks
When bejeweled with the truth of her countless stars.

--

--

Vandini Sharma
Soul Vanni

I write soulful & heartwarming stories to inspire you. 💖 Awarded & published 🇮🇳 writer - AP, Forbes, New York Times & 50+ publications worldwide.