Human music

Paulina Lanz
Sound Diary
Published in
2 min readFeb 4, 2020

Maybe breaks can help tell sonic narratives apart

Ever since a few years ago, I decided to pursue monotasking. I used to be proud of my multitasking skills, until the moment when I realized it made me procrastinate instead of getting things done. I struggled in my attempt to switch-task from sound diary to soundscape assignment. When I was working on one, my signal-tunning brain switched to the other. After a few failed attempts, I outsourced to Shazam.

I rediscovered my Shazam account last year (shout-out to COMM307), when I was keeping track of release dates, artists, titles and labels in a timely manner. As I went to Shazam a resource this time around, I realized that my pending playlists are stacked next to the novels I’ve been meaning to read. For that reason, this week’s listening exercise is divided into three sections:

  1. The sounds that I actively listened to while working on my Soundscape Assignment (Soundcloud playlist)
  2. The background music that Shazam made me actively listen to (Human music playlist on Spotify)
  3. The Spotify-curated playlists that I discovered (Café con Leche) and re-discovered (Inevitable Radio); followed by the playlist that Spotify curated for my dog (quite randomly, I might add).

This week brought more music-as-signal, rather than music-as-noise. I feel overindulged.

*Sips coffee and hits play*

Spotify. February 2020

--

--

Paulina Lanz
Sound Diary

Paulina is a PhD student in Communication at USC Annenberg and a member of the research group Civic Paths.