An unexpected combo

Jordan Blitz
Soup Stories
Published in
2 min readMar 2, 2018

My favorite soup is tomato soup, though ironically I hate tomatoes. I hate the texture of tomatoes and when you bite into a tomato it releases this weird textured juice with seeds. I hate that it has a sort of skin that you really can’t peel but it’s extremely difficult to eat, very chewy. I don’t like chewy.

Tomato soup though, well that is the best. It is creamy and smooth and full of flavor and is even better when you have a side of grilled cheese to dip into it. The best grilled cheese for dipping into the soup is three cheese grilled cheese that has traditional yellow cheddar, pepper jack and even some Munster or Gouda cheese that just adds to the smokiness of the roasted tomatoes in the soup.

As I am sure you can tell, I have put a lot of thought into this grilled cheese and tomato soup combo, and I’m sure from that you can infer it is one of my favorite meals. It is something I never used to like as a child but tried it one day when I was a teenager and simply fell in love with it. I have always loved grilled cheese, my love for tomato soup, however, well that was a friendship that I never would have guessed would have happened.

Thinking about tomato soup and grilled cheese as I am writing this brings me back to my first date with my boyfriend actually. We had been trying to go out on a date but our busy schedules were never able to match up. It was summertime so I was sick with the travel bug and he was working constantly.

One night, our schedules managed to allow us to both be free for dinner and he decided to cook me dinner at his house. I was nervous because what if he wasn’t a good cook, and I was right. He knew grilled cheese and tomato soup was one of my favorite meals so that’s what he made for me. The soup was from a can but he added milk to make it more creamy and enjoyable and he burnt the bread, but he tried to scrap off the burnt part on mine to make sure the meal wasn’t a total bust.

It was a disaster, but because of how hard he tried to make sure I enjoyed my favorite meal, it was my favorite grilled cheese and tomato soup.

--

--