Every Bite Better Than a Kiss

Serena O'Sullivan
Soup Stories
Published in
3 min readOct 19, 2018
When you’re eating something heavenly, every bite is as good as a kiss.

Fourteen dollars is cheap for a ticket to heaven.

The heaven I’m speaking of comes in a tall bowl with harsh angles; the body of the bowl is round, but the top is cut into a stark rectangular shape. At first, it might look strange, but at the first whiff of the incredible treasure inside, all thoughts fly out the door, replaced by the animal need to eat, eat, eat, just one more bite, until you’re facing a half-empty bowl and the overpowering wish that there was room in your stomach for one more taste of perfection.

Chon Thai Food’s Pumpkin Curry Bowl is so deliciously fragrant that you can smell it from across the room. It’s a beautiful, deep orange color that smells of turmeric, basil, chicken and pumpkin. Vivid greens and reds of the vegetables peek out from the tangerine-colored broth. No candle could ever come close to capturing the mouth-watering sensation I get after one sniff.

Disney expresses my feelings perfectly. (Curry by Joyce W. on Yelp.)

Tender, flavorful chicken floats in a stunning, sunset broth filled with hearty vegetables and basil. Red curry blends with pumpkin to create a deliciously complex flavor. Each bite introduces something new to your palate, from the sharp bite of a green bean to the tangy burst of pumpkin in your mouth.

Everything about the Pumpkin Curry Bowl adds to the beauty of the dish. Every ingredient is like a brush stroke an artist paints on a canvas, blending together to create a stunning work of art.

Even after your stomach is full, the Pumpkin Curry Bowl is the gift that keeps on giving. The best part of all is the generous portion size: my curry bowl could have fed two men, and despite my best efforts, there was still a generous helping left for me to enjoy the next day.

Image by Matthew P. on Yelp.

Very few times have I thought about a dish days after I ate it, but even a week later, my taste buds still tingled from the phantom state of Chon Thai Food’s pumpkin curry. It had everything I loved: meat, vegetables, complexity, and, of course, pumpkin. I’m not ashamed to admit that I’ve got an inner Becky, who struts around in Uggs and has a heart attack whenever she sees the word ‘pumpkin.’ One of my favorite flavorings in the world is pumpkin, followed closely by lavender, cilantro and honey.

It’s probably a god thing that Chon Thai Food is all the way in Chandler. If it were any closer, I’d probably be bankrupt from buying so much of this unbelievably fantastic soup. Then again, what’s money compared to a little piece of heaven?

--

--