Favorite Soup

Rich R
Soup Stories
Published in
3 min readMar 1, 2019

Broccoli cheddar soup in a bread bowl from Panera is one of my favorite soups. I don’t often eat soups but this is one I do enjoy when I decide to eat one. I like to get the soup in a to-go container for two reasons. The first is that it is not as messy and doesn’t make the bowl soggy by the time I get down to the bottom of the bowl, and the second is because it makes it easier to tear the bread bowl into tiny pieces to dip into the soup.

The combination of the bread dipped into the cheddar and broccoli bowl makes this soup’s flavor really come out. I will also eat this type of soup without a bread bowl but my favorite way of eating it is with the bread bowl. I love broccoli and I love cheese so combining the two into a soup really makes my taste buds smile. There are also shredded carrots in the soup which is another vegetable I like to snack on.

I really love how the steam rises from the soup when it’s served fresh. It tastes so good when it’s served hot. As I sit here and write about it, my mouth begins to water just thinking about the details of the soup and it’s taste.

I first began eating this soup about 10 years ago when Paradise Bakery was still around. I loved to go to Paradise Bakery any time I was at the mall and even if I got a sandwich from there I would also get a broccoli cheddar bread bowl. Typically I would only eat soup when I was sick but this is how I knew I really liked this type of soup because I would eat it even when I was feeling just fine.

Photo Credit: Panera Bread Co. Site

I also like the smell of the soup, as I sit and write about it I can almost smell it as if it were being cooked freshly from Panera. I think overall the thought of this soup makes me want to eat it. This is one more reason why I know that I really like this type of soup. I think at some point today I will have to try and get over to Panera so I can pick up a broccoli cheddar bread bowl of soup. The weather is just right for it on this cold, rainy day. It should serve for really good use to warm up just a bit. Here is what my good friend Stephen Ontiveros had to say about soups.

--

--