Growing Up On Soup

Bailey
Soup Stories
Published in
3 min readOct 13, 2017
A picture of myself holding a picture of my family and a crockpot./PC: Isaac Despain

As a kid, your mom probably made a lot of lasagna and casseroles for dinner or maybe you had a parent with a real talent for cooking and had a three/four-course meal. In my case, I didn’t. I think it’s safe to say that I grew up on soup. I don’t know if it was the easiest thing to make for a family of six or just that my mother didn’t know what else to make. But I probably had soup a good two to three times a week, unless my dad was cooking, then that’s another story

Anyways…

Don’t get me wrong, I was fed well as a kid but boy do I remember eating a ton of soup. Thankfully, the soup was made from scratch, most of the time, other times was definitely from a Campbell’s Soup can.

A Green Chili/ Max Pixel

So since I have had my fair share of soup over the years, choosing my favorite is rather difficult. The first soup that popped into my head, however, was Green Chile Chicken Soup. When my mom makes this soup she tends to make it in her large crockpot because we, my siblings and father, love this soup. It contains a can of cream of chicken, a can of cream of mushroom, chicken broth, sour cream, shredded chicken, milk, and a can of green chiles. She would then heat up some tortillas and we would eat a bowl of the soup while using tortillas as the spoon. So delicious.

Cauliflower Soup/ Wikimedia

Another soup I rather enjoy is Cauliflower Soup. I don’t even know what’s in this one besides smashed cauliflower, but oh my, my is it heavenly. Just imagine a dark ivory colored soup that’s creamy, sprinkled with cheese, dolloped with sour cream, and speckled with salt and pepper. So. Good.

Cauliflower Soup

Clam Chowder Soup/ Wikimedia

The final soup I would consider one my top favorites is one my mother or father has never made. My third favorite would most definitely be Clam Chowder and I like to think my first experience with it was done right. I had the opportunity to go to Boston a few years back and you bet your bottom dollar I had a nice cup of Clam Chowder. I’m not a huge seafood fan so I was a little worried, but now I crave Clam Chowder all the time. No joke. Unfortunately, however, when I came back to Arizona I tried a different restaurant’s Clam Chowder and it just wasn’t the same. I was so sad. I guess that only means I need to go back to Boston to get myself another cup which is fine by me.

“Bad news should be followed with soup. Then a nap.” Augusten Burroughs, an American Writer

So there you have it, my top three favorite soups. Now could I go on with my favorite flavors of soup, most definitely, I mean there is that magic gumbo stuff at Disneyland and the homemade chicken noodle soup with the homemade noodles my neighbor made or the hot and sour soup from the Chinese restaurant down the street from my childhood home. But I’ll stop there.

--

--