Mama Ashburn’s Chicken Tortilla Soup

Austin Ashburn
Soup Stories
Published in
3 min readMar 22, 2022

--

My favorite soup is tortilla soup. More specifically, I absolutely love my mom’s homemade chicken tortilla soup. The restaurants simply do not compare, though they may try. Something about the broth is so magical to me, and it never tastes too heavy. It is what one would call “flavor town to the max,” and I could literally eat three bowls of it in one sitting.

The key ingredients of the soup include chicken, chicken broth, corn, corn tortilla strips, lime, cilantro, black beans, diced tomatoes, and sour cream.

In my opinion, one can never go wrong with sour cream. Although the soup does not necessarily need it, the sour cream adds a whole new level and dimension to the flavor of the soup. It is the perfect contrast of cold and creamy to all of the other ingredients’ warmth and texture. The more sour cream the better, which is probably why this soup ends up being incredibly unhealthy whenever I eat it.

My mom did not always make this soup, as it is a relatively new addition to our home’s dinner options. She started making it during the summer of 2020, and I have continued to pressure her to make it at least once every month when I am back home from school. I think more than any other soup, I am reminded of home the most when I eat it. This is because it’s the only homemade one I ever really eat, as my mom has only ever made tomato soup prior to this.

My dad and sister are also super picky with what they like to eat, so the fact that they both enjoy it means that it is allowed to be a common and recurring meal for the household. Grocery shopping with my parents and sister feels a lot more fun when I know of the deliciousness that will soon be coming my way, increasing with every ingredient that my mom plucks out and places into the cart.

Mama Ashburn’s chicken tortilla soup also tastes extra delicious when one is feeling sick or under the weather, and I greatly appreciate that. I remember having the cold, and the only things keeping me afloat and in a positive mood were RuPaul’s Drag Race, Twitter, and that amazing soup.

Cilantro is not for everyone, but it is definitely a favorite of mine. I also believe that it is always good to add some extra seasoning when appropriate. There is no dry chicken allowed in my household, and that rule also applies to this dish!

If I were to ask my mom to deliver me some homemade food right now, it would probably be this soup. Overall, I am very grateful for the discovery of this meal. Chicken tortilla soup has added new happiness to my life, and I cannot wait for summer break when I can ask for my mom to cook it every single week.

--

--