Jena Crum
Soup Stories
Published in
3 min readOct 20, 2017

--

Moral of the Story. Photo by Publicdomainictures.net

My favorite kind of soup is any kind of soup. I’m a big soup person and I basically like every kind of soup there is. From gespacho to chicken noodle, I’m your girl. On rainy days, I’ll go for chicken noodle soup, or sunny days, I’ll go for something a little more festive and fun, like gumbo or jumbalia. My family thinks that my soup addiction is a little ridiculous. I’ll eat it in the summer time and in the winter. The weather outside doesn’t bother me or deter my mood! I just think it’s fun to eat a liquid. No, not drink a liquid like a person might, but to actually EAT a liquid! Picture it: soup might be one of the only full meals ever that you’re allowed to drink. If you’re looking for a fun time drinking your meal, and I unless you do meal replacement shakes or protein shakes regularly, then soup might be your only opportunity to drink up your sweet, sweet nutrition.

Natrowing down my favorite soup is tricky, but I’ll say one of my favorites is chicken gnocchi soup. You can make it at home, or you can get a stellar version of it from the Olive Garden. It’s creamy and has all the good stuff in it, including gnocchi. Gnocchi is essentially little, soft, delicious clouds made out of potatoes and happiness. This heaven-on-Earth soup adds these sweet drops of cloud into a creamed up, seasoned chicken broth, add spinach, carrots, onion and garlic and every spice that tastes like homes. It’s cooked down until it’s melt in your mouth soft. The only issue with this soup is no matter how you cook it (slow cooker, on the stove, pressure cooker, etc) it is a labor of love. The soup is made with a lot of vegetables that need to be cooked slowly so they can cook thoroughly and not crisp on their skin. Plus, it takes time to add the flavor of love. While you’re cooking, your house ends up smelling like how you wish your home would on Christmas Day after coming in from the snow. Your neighbors will think your a chef, because the aroma sneaks through your windows and makes the neighbors mouth water, too. However, while all these flavors start tickling your nose, you’re left to wait.

The happy-heart soup at the Olive Garden. Photo by Jena Crum

And wait. And wait. And wait.

Until it’s ready. Then it’s to hot to eat! So you’ll wait.

And wait. And wait.

It’s all worth it, of course! Every flavor you’re about to be a part will feel like a hug from your family. However, I just won’t recommend starting to cook this when you’re already hungry for dinner. I’m afraid to say that I’ve learned the hard way from my own experiences that if you wait for the soup to cook and you’re stomach is in protest of having to wait, you might end up snacking as a “prep” for dinner. You’ll give your stomach a smaller meal before your actual meal all while trying to convince yourself that you’re not overeating, that it’s okay, patience is a virtue and that your snack is just something to rouse your appetite.

If you’re looking for something delicious, have the patience and time and want a great dinner to sip and enjoy that’ll might change your life and feel like it’s bringing you closer to your family, try the chicken gnocchi soup. Or, I guess you can just hop on over to the Oliver Garden and get it there too…

Just remember, nothing beats the flavor of love you get from having it at home. After all, home is where the heart is.

--

--