Soup for the soul.

Danielle Beserra
Soup Stories

--

Picking a favorite soup is not a simple task. Not only may your cravings change day-to- day but the weather may impact what soup one is in the mood for. Regardless of the soup choice, there is nothing quite like digging into a warm bowl of soup after a chilly day. When that first bite hits your belly it feels like a nice warm hug welcoming you home. To me, soup is even better when it has a hint of spice. If you asked me to pick my favorite soup I would have to say it would be Tortilla soup. It’s rich, spicy and has endless ingredient possibilities. Plus who doesn’t like warm tortillas that soak up a flavorful broth. Traditionally tortilla soup has olive oil, onion, cilantro, garlic, broth, diced tomatoes, cilantro, corn, chili powder, cumin, bay leaves, cheese, chicken, and tortilla strips. I choose to substitute the chicken with black beans for a meat-free option and add green chilies for more a kick. After sauteing the veggies I add everything but the tortilla strips to the crockpot and let all of the flavors come together for a few hours. Lastly, I add the tortilla strips and top with avocado, a dollop of vegan sour cream and finish it off with a squeeze of lime.

The complexity of tomato-based soup with the warm spice reminds me of growing up in chilly Colorado and eating this soup with my family. We would eat this soup after a day skiing in on the mountain or on a snowy Sunday afternoon. The memories that accompany this soup makes all the more special.

--

--