Soups Are Like Friends, Not Food

Jenna Arend
Soup Stories
Published in
3 min readMar 17, 2022

It’s a chilly evening in Southern California and dinner is on the horizon. My mom asks me what I want to eat. The only thing that pops in my head is our local fine dining restaurant- Chase’s La Verne. To set the scene, the interior of the restaurant is warm which stands out from the cold brick and stone exterior. I decide to order tomato bisque with a side of a toasted baguette.

Chase’s tomato bisque is the most amazing soup, and so many people in the town have determined the same reasoning as the soup has become a staple on the menu. In the past, it was simply a randomized soup of the day.

Which side note, is a really interesting choice for me. I am a very picky eater and I dislike ketchup or plain tomatoes as a topping. The only tomato products I eat are tomato soup and salsa. But besides my opinion of it being yummy and delicious, I have a reason why it is my favorite.

This tomato bisque soup is red, creamy, not chunky. It’s hearty, it’s salty, it’s a little sweet. There are homemade croutons on top that add some saltiness to the flavor profile. They start out crisp but become mushy. The slivers of parmesan cheese on top melt into goo that strings from the spoon to your lips as you take a bite. It is the perfect appetizer to eat on a cold evening as it warms you right up and makes you feel so at home.

Every recipe for tomato soup is different, and you can make it at home or get it at a restaurant. There are more savory-based recipes and there are ways to make it sweeter. It can be thin, it can be chunky, it can be so many different textures. It pairs wonderfully with a grilled cheese sandwich or some bread. It can be eaten alone or as a dip. It is the most versatile soup and that is why it is my favorite.

I would like to think that tomato soup reminds me of my favorite people in my life. Tomato soup lifts me up when I am down, it warms me up when I am cold, it’s like a really warm hug, and it reminds me of home. It’s a “comfort food.”

Tomato soup, as mentioned already, can take so many forms, and so can everyone in my life. It provides a sense of comfort when those people cannot physically be there for me at the moment. Tomato soup meshes so well with everything and is the epitome of a balanced meal. I’d like to say that my friends and family help make me whole and balanced when my life feels as if it is falling apart.

The addition of basil, croutons, bread, seasonings, or cheese to the soup can be a comparison to the different pieces of friendship life can bring. It reminds me of the well-rounded relationships I keep close to my heart.

--

--