Split Pea Soup

Daisy Finch
Soup Stories
Published in
2 min readMar 3, 2018

My favorite soup is split pea soup. This is my favorite soup because when I was younger and I would get sick, my mom would make this for me. I was afraid to try it at first. Split pea soup wasn’t exactly the most appealing name for a food as a sugar-crazed youngster. But I did, and I ended up loving it. I think I liked it even more because my mom and I sort of had a bond over it. We were the only two people in my family who liked split pea soup, so she always made a batch just for the two of us to share. I’m definitely the odd one out when it comes to my family, especially in the realm of food. I’m the only one who loves or dislikes a lot of different foods, such as yummy sushi and seafood, or gross tomatoes and mayonnaise. But with split pea soup, I had another team member. She always served it with crackers too. I can see it all now. I would sit at the dining table as I heard the soft clinking of the ladle in the pot of warm, pale green liquid. Two bowls sat waiting to be filled. The crackers were already at the table, waiting to accompany the meal. Then my mom would carefully walk each bowl over and set them gently on the wooden table. Steam slowly rose from the surface and spilled into the air, warming my face as I gently blow away some of the heat. I always liked to start with crackers as the soup cooled down. I would slip one from the sleeve and dip it into the soup, trying to scoop as much as possible. Then I’d crunch into the first bite, and from there on out I was switching between spoon and cracker until the liquid had completely disappeared. It always made me feel warmer when I had the chills and just gave me a nice hearty feeling overall.

--

--